What to read next if you loved 'The Goldfinch,' 'Fifty Shades of Grey' and more bestsellers

+-

“What should I read next?” That’s the question that we, as book critics, get asked most frequently — and that we’re always happy to answer. (In fact, you might not be able to shut us up.) But before making a recommendation, it helps to know what else the reader in question has enjoyed. Here are some fail-safe pairings.

If you liked THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

Paula Hawkins' novel about a drunken woman who
(Credit: Riverhead)

Paula Hawkins' novel about a drunken woman who inserts herself into a crime investigation, read...

THE LAST SEPTEMBER by Nina de Gramont

A literary whodunit set on Cape Cod, weaving
(Credit: Algonquin)

A literary whodunit set on Cape Cod, weaving a murder mystery with the emotionally intense story of a fraying marriage. (Algonquin, $25.95)

If you liked ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE

By Anthony Doerr, about a blind girl and
(Credit: Scribner )

By Anthony Doerr, about a blind girl and a German soldier in occupied WWII France, read...

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISE HERE

THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Julie Orringer

This sweeping saga concerns the fate of a
(Credit: Vintage)

This sweeping saga concerns the fate of a small group of Hungarian Jews living in Paris. As Hitler's shadow falls over Europe, our heroes and heroines endure unimaginable hardships but never lose their humanity. (Vintage, $15.95)

If you liked THE GOLDFINCH

Donna Tartt's prize-winner about a boy whose mother
(Credit: Back Bay)

Donna Tartt's prize-winner about a boy whose mother is killed in a New York City museum bombing, read...

EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE by Jonathan Safran Foer

Nine-year-old Oskar Schell, having lost his father in
(Credit: Mariner)

Nine-year-old Oskar Schell, having lost his father in the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Center, finds a key amongst his father's possessions and carries it through the five boroughs of New York City trying to find what it unlocks. (Mariner, $14.95)

If you liked GONE GIRL

By Gillian Flynn, about a woman who disappears

By Gillian Flynn, about a woman who disappears and her husband, who becomes a suspect, read...

THE SILENT WIFE by A.S.A. Harrison

This quick, sharp boning knife of a novel,
(Credit: Penguin)

This quick, sharp boning knife of a novel, told in alternating he said/she said chapters, chronicles the dissolution of a marriage and how a successful female therapist becomes a killer. (Penguin, $16)

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISE HERE

If you liked ME BEFORE YOU

By Jojo Moyes, about a young woman who
(Credit: Penguin)

By Jojo Moyes, about a young woman who becomes a caregiver for a quadriplegic man and falls in love, read...

BIG GIRL SMALL by Rachel DeWoskin

A thoroughly modern coming-of-age story with a 3-foot-9-inch
(Credit: Picador)

A thoroughly modern coming-of-age story with a 3-foot-9-inch heroine who faces cruelty and misfortune with humor and resilience. (Picador, $17)

If you liked THE HUSBAND’S SECRET

By Liane Moriarty, about a wife whose life
(Credit: Berkley)

By Liane Moriarty, about a wife whose life is turned upside down by her husband's death and the letter he leaves behind, read...

THE WHOLE WORLD OVER by Julia Glass

The complexities of love are explored through the
(Credit: Anchor)

The complexities of love are explored through the intertwining lives of a chef in Greenwich Village, the governor of New Mexico, a homeless young woman, and a formidable four-year-old boy. (Anchor, $16.95)

If you liked THE FAULT IN OUR STARS

By John Green, about a teenage girl with
(Credit: Penguin)

By John Green, about a teenage girl with stage IV cancer and the cancer survivor she falls in love with, read...

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISE HERE

ME AND EARL AND THE DYING GIRL by Jesse Andrews

A socially awkward, brutally self-conscious and hilarious teenage
(Credit: Abrams)

A socially awkward, brutally self-conscious and hilarious teenage filmmaker tells the story of his complicated friendships with a street-smart best friend and a classmate with leukemia. (Harry N. Abrams, $9.95)

If you liked A LITTLE LIFE

By Hanya Yanagihara, about four close college friends
(Credit: Doubleday)

By Hanya Yanagihara, about four close college friends and the dark past one of them harbors, read...

THE EMPEROR'S CHILDREN by Claire Messud

The story of three talented friends from Brown
(Credit: Vintage)

The story of three talented friends from Brown University who land in New York to make their fortunes (as an author, critic and television producer) while the cataclysm of 9/11 hovers in the no-so-distant future. (Vintage, $15.95)

If you liked THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO

By Stieg Larsson, about a goth-girl hacker who
(Credit: Vintage)

By Stieg Larsson, about a goth-girl hacker who joins forces with a crusading journalist, read...

GORKY PARK Martin Cruz Smith

In the first of a series that set
(Credit: Ballantine)

In the first of a series that set the gold standard for the international detective novel, brilliant police investigator Arkady Renko investigates murders in Soviet-era Moscow that end up involving the KGB, the FBI and the NYPD. (Ballantine, $16)

If you liked FIFTY SHADES OF GREY

By E.L. James, about a college girl in
(Credit: Vintage)

By E.L. James, about a college girl in a sadomasochistic relationship with a multimillionaire, read...

THE SLEEPING BEAUTY TRILOGY by A.N. Roquelaure

Before Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele were even
(Credit: Plume)

Before Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele were even a gleam in the eye of E.L. James, author Anne Rice, writing under a psuedonym, was recasting a classic fairy tale as high-class erotica about a princess's sexual initiation. (Plume, $48 box set)

If you liked GO SET A WATCHMAN

Harper Lee's rediscovered
(Credit: HarperCollins)

Harper Lee's rediscovered "sequel" to "To Kill a Mockingbird," read...

THE LITTLE FRIEND by Donna Tartt

Twelve-year-old Harriet Cleve Dufresnes navigates the complex society
(Credit: Vintage)

Twelve-year-old Harriet Cleve Dufresnes navigates the complex society -- white and black -- of her Mississippi hometown as she attempts to solve the murder of her brother years earlier. (Vintage, $15.95)

Sign up for Newsday's Entertainment newsletter

Get the latest on celebs, TV and more.

Sign up

By clicking Sign up, you agree to our privacy policy.

Related Media

A family road trip around England, after living 15 must-read books coming in 2016 Anthony Marra's Best books of 2015 For the Prince fan who will forever be Holiday gifts for music lovers and more

Comments

Newsday.com now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.

By using this site, you agree to our Privacy policy.

OK