The stars of the original "Star Wars" will reunite to join new cast members for "Star Wars: Episode VII," the continuation of the saga.

Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew and Kenny Baker are returning as Han Solo, Princess Leia, Luke Skywalker, C-3PO, Chewbacca and R2-D2, respectively, Disney Studios announced Tuesday. In addition, Andy Serkis ("The Lord of the Rings"), Oscar Isaac ("Inside Llewyn Davis"), Adam Driver (HBO's "Girls"), John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Domhnall Gleeson and screen legend Max von Sydow join the cast. Their roles were not disclosed.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

The film, which Disney Studios chairman Alan Horn said on April 2 had already begun shooting, is scheduled to be released Dec. 18, 2015. The story picks up 35 years after the events of the sixth film, the prequel "Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith" (2005).

"We are so excited to finally share the cast of 'Star Wars: Episode VII,' " director J.J. Abrams, said in a statement. "It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again."

Also returning is the original films' 82-year-old composer, John Williams, who has scored all six works and created the memorable "Star Wars" theme. The screenplay is by Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan, the co-writer of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" as well as the second and third "Star Wars" films, "The Empire Strikes Back" and "Return of the Jedi."