Even if the standout track from The Offshore Regulars' new EP "Heathens" (Offshore Regulars) wasn't called "Ocean Beach," the West Islip band would still capture that South Shore summer vibe.

What separates "Ocean Beach" -- which builds from an acoustic guitar start to a soothing reggae-grooved party that includes some inspired trombone work from guest Matt Carlin -- from so many laid-back, 311-inspired tracks are the vocals of Brendan O'Hara, who adds just enough rock growl to keep things edgy.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

On "Ain't No Wifey," the band makes its bid for a more mainstream-oriented hit, with Andrew Culmo's guitar sharing the spotlight with the clever story line, until they kick into a higher gear ending with a drum solo from Bobby Van Nostrand. On "The Offshore Regulars," Jonathan Eiseman's funky bass rules what should be the band's theme song as well as a promise of a sunny future.

The Offshore Regulars play Beerfields 2015 at Pennysaver Amphitheater, 55 S. Bicycle Path, Farmingville, on Saturday, June 27. Tickets are $50 through Ticketmaster.