TV Zone

News, scoops, reviews and more from TV land.

CBS moves '60 Minutes' to 7:30 p.m. start

In an effort to curb confusion — not to mention viewer anger — over football overruns, CBS will shift "60 Minutes” along with the rest of the prime-time schedule up a half-hour on dates when there are football doubleheaders.

Here's the key stat from CBS with regards this interesting scheduling change:   

The NFL on CBS’s 2012 doubleheader Sundays are: Sept. 16 and 23; Oct. 7 and 21; Nov. 4 and 18; and Dec. 2, 16 and 30. The start times for Sunday prime-time series in Mountain and Pacific Time zones will remain as previously scheduled on those dates.

So, all you “The Good Wife” fans — who on occasion like to email yours truly to complain about this issue — time to celebrate!

Here's the new lineup:

7:30 p.m., ET/6:30 p.m., CT -- "60 Minutes"

8:30 p.m., ET/7:30 p.m., CT -- "Big Brother 14" (through Sept. 23)

"The Amazing Race" (as of Sept. 30)

9:30 p.m., ET/8:30 p.m., CT -- "The Good Wife"

10:30 p.m., ET/9:30 p.m., CT -- "The Mentalist"  

Tags: cbs , 60 minutes , the good wife , the mentalist , big brother , nfl , football overruns

advertisement | advertise on newsday

What’s on TV tonight

advertisement | advertise on newsday