Upload Photo
Caption / Share

"A Ball for Daisy," Chris Raschka

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children
(Schwartz & Wade Books, an imprint of Random House Children?s Books; $16.99)
BEST FOR Ages 3 and up
(Credit: Handout)

1 of 75

Share this photo

Caldecott Children's Book Winners, 1938-present

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of 19th century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Here's a list of the medal winners starting with the most recent through 1938, when the first Caldecott medal was awarded. You can find these books at your local library or on Amazon.com.
--Compiled by Jennifer Berger

Coming soon: Newsday's Family newsletter, for things to do with kids, events, more.


Newsday.com now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.