Upload Photo

Catholic schools slated to close on Long Island

The Diocese of Rockville Centre said six schools will close next June: St. John Baptist De LaSalle Regional School in Farmingdale; St. Catherine of Sienna School in Franklin Square; St. Ignatius Loyola School in Hicksville; Sacred Heart School in North Merrick; Our Lady of Perpetual Help School in Lindenhurst; and Prince of Peace Regional School in Sayville. In addition, three schools on the East End and two in Nassau will be asked to work together and strengthen their programs if they want to remain open, said Sean Dolan, a spokesman for the diocese.

The best of Newsday every day in your inbox. Get the Newsday Now newsletter!


Newsday.com now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.