North Hempstead Supervisor Judi Bosworth pledged a continued commitment to transparency and participatory government at a swearing-in ceremony for town officials in New Hyde Park on Sunday.

“We will continue to engage with and dialogue with everyone in our community who has something to offer to the governmental conversation, for the truest path to good government is one that has the most people walking together on it,” Bosworth, a Democrat, said.

Bosworth, the town’s 37th supervisor, won re-election in November by nearly 68 percent of the vote. In her inaugural speech on Sunday in Clinton G. Martin Park’s auditorium, she reflected on her past two years in office and also made several promises for her new term, such as establishing a new advisory committee to assess parking in downtown and commuter areas.

Bosworth pledged to create a group to support town park improvements, such as planning the future of North Hempstead Beach Park. She also spoke about continuing to preserve the environment and attract new businesses to town.

“We will continue to stay true to our history and reputation as a forward-thinking, progressive place to live and we will continue to develop a solid and exciting vision for our town’s future,” Bosworth said.

She stressed the importance of keeping residents safe and secure in what she described as “troubling times.” Last week, Bosworth called for a reversal of the 2012 merger of the Nassau County Police Department’s Third and Sixth precincts.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Bosworth was sworn in by State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli, who praised her long career in public service, including her tenure as a Great Neck Board of Education trustee and Nassau County legislator.

“Judi is a grass roots person,” DiNapoli said.

Among the standing-room-only crowd at Clinton G. Martin Park in New Hyde Park were Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Rep. Steve Israel (D-Huntington) and Nassau County District Attorney Madeline Singas.

Incumbent tax receiver Charles Berman and council members Anna Kaplan, Dina de Giorgio, and Peter Zuckerman were also sworn in at the inauguration.