How LI lawmakers voted on school-zone speed cameras

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Spin Cycle

News, views and commentary on Long Island, state and national politics.

Heres how Long Island state legislators voted on a bill to install 125 school-zone speed cameras on the Island. Though some touted safety, others called it a money grab -- estimated revenue from tickets is a key part of Nassau Countys financial plans.


advertisement | advertise on newsday


advertisement | advertise on newsday

Kemp Hannon (R-Garden City) Y.
Carl Marcellino (R-Syosset) Y.
Jack Martins (R-Mineola) Y.
Dean Skelos (R-Rockville Centre) ...Y.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Phil Boyle (R-Bay Shore) Y.
John Flanagan (R-East Northport) N.
Kenneth LaValle (R-Port Jefferson) N .
Lee Zeldin (R-Shirley) N.



Brian Curran (R-Lynbrook) Y.
Earlene Hooper (D-Hempstead) Y.
Charles Lavine (D-Glen Cove) Y.
David McDonough (R-Merrick) Y.
Thomas McKevitt (R-East Meadow) Y.
Michael Montesano (R-Glen Head) Y.
Edward Ra (R-Franklin Square) Y.
Joseph Saladino (R-Massapequa) Y.
Michelle Schimel (D-Great Neck) Y.
Michaelle Solages (D-Elmont) Y.
Harvey Weisenberg (D-Long Beach) absent.

Steven Englebright (D-Setauket) Y.
Michael Fitzpatrick (R-St. James) N.
Andrew Garbarino (R-Sayville) Y.
Alfred Graf (R-Holbrook) absent.
Edward Hennessey (D-Brookhaven) Y.
Chad Lupinacci (R-Huntington) Y.

Anthony Palumbo (R-New Suffolk) Y.
Andrew Raia (R-East Northport) Y.
Philip Ramos (D-Brentwood) absent.
Robert Sweeney (D-Lindenhurst) Y.
Fred Thiele Jr. (I-Sag Harbor) Y.

The best of Newsday everyday in your inbox. Get the Newsday Now newsletter!

You also may be interested in: