Spin Cycle

News, views and commentary on Long Island, state and national politics.

A move to force the state Joint Commission on Public Ethics to hold part of its meeting Monday in public to clear the air about the investigation into sexual harassment allegations against Assemb. Vito Lopez failed by an 8-5 vote.

Supporters said keeping the meeting open would “restore public integrity.” Opponents said it wasn’t permissible under the statute that created JCOPE -- all discussions of investigations must be kept private, they said. Below is a list of how the commissioners voted, along with the name of the elected official who appointed them.

Voting “Yes” to keep the meeting open to the public were:
     - Patrick Bulgaro (Appointed by Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver)
     - Marvin Jacob (Silver).
     - Mary Lou Rath (Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos).
     - George Weissman (Skelos).
     - Ellen Yaroshefsky (Silver).

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Voting “No” were:
    - Chairwoman Janet DiFiore (Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo)
    - Joseph Covello (Skelos).
    - Vincent DeIorio (Cuomo).
    - Mitra Hormozi (Cuomo).
    - Daniel Horowitz (Cuomo).
    - Seymour Knox IV (Cuomo).
    - Gary Lavine (Cuomo).
    - David Renzi (Assembly Minority Leader Brian Kolb).

One commissioner, Ravi Batra who was appointed by Senate Democrats, resigned Friday amid the controversy.