Spin Cycle

News, views and commentary on Long Island, state and national politics.

ALBANY — Nassau and Suffolk counties would have the option to block ride-hailing services such as Lyft and Uber under terms of state budget deal being finalized by lawmakers at the State Capitol.

After a lengthy battle, lawmakers are poised to authorize ride-hailing services throughout New York — with a catch.

The legislation would include a provision to allow any city or county with a population greater than 100,000 to block services by voting to “opt out.” That is, unless a county legislature votes to prohibit ride-sharing, it would be legal.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

“The idea is if a community really doesn’t want ride sharing, it should have a means to do so,” said Assemb. Kevin Cahill (D-Kingston), chairman of the Assembly Insurance Committee, which was involved in the ride-sharing negotiations.

The ride-sharing authorization would be tucked into the 2017-18 state budget — as long as lawmakers can settle one remaining sticking point: should local governments get a share of the taxes/fees that services would have to pay the state, Cahill said.

As the law is proposed, the state would garner a projected $24 million annually from e-hailing services (through a 4 percent sales tax on individual hails). Assembly Democrats want local transportation services (which could be affected by ride sharing) to get between $6 million and $12 million of that.

Some Long Island representatives said they favored ride-sharing authorization — and giving counties the ability to say no.

“I’m very supportive of ride sharing. It provides an opportunity for jobs and it diversifies transportation options,” said Assemb. Michaelle Solages (D-Elmont). She said the local option is meant to “protect counties if the [ride sharing] experiment goes wrong.”

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Ride-sharing is currently authorized only in New York City. This measure won’t affect the city’s ride hailing regulations, which are overseen by its Taxi and Limousine Commission.

The new law would become effective 90 days after the budget is approved by the State Legislature and the governor, Cahill said.