Long Island Now

The latest community buzz and updates. | Sign up for community newsletters.


Complete results for contested fire district commissioners election

A sign for McDowell for Commissioner sits on

A sign for McDowell for Commissioner sits on a lawn on Bayview Avenue in Blue Point. (Dec. 6, 2012) (Credit: Ed Betz)

Fire districts across Long Island held elections for commissioners on Tuesday. Here are the results of contested elections, and of propositions on the ballot in some districts:

Bellmore: Incumbent Robert Angrisani. A proposition asking residents whether the district can solicit bids to sell, trade or dispose of four fire trucks passed.
Bethpage: Incumbent Gregory Patsos
East Meadow: Incumbent Scott Farber
Franklin Square and Munson: Les Saltzman
Hewlett Bay: Residents approved a proposition to change the elected treasurer’s position to an appointed position starting at the end of 2014.
Hicksville: Michael Azzue
Lido and Point Lookout: Bernard Paz
Locust Valley: Paul Long
New Hyde Park: Challenger John Waldron
North Bellmore: Edward Kraus
Oceanside: Biagio Rosano
South Farmingdale: Challenger John Boklak
Syosset: Thomas Feeney
Uniondale: Anthony Lebron a two-year term, incumbent Noel Thomas a five-year term.
Wantagh: Incumbent Jay Cohen
West Hempstead: Challenger Avraham Z. Rosman

Blue Point: Michael Dollop
Brentwood: Challenger William Menendez
Bridgehampton: Incumbent Thomas Dombkowski
Centereach: Challenger Raymond Catapano
Commack: Incumbent Thomas McFadzen
Copiague: Julian Wellington. A proposition to buy a pumper, a rescue vehicle and an ambulance passed.
Cutchogue: Incumbent Sandy Friemann
Dix Hills: Todd Cohen. A proposition to increase the number of years for which a firefighter can get LOSAP credit passed.
East Islip: Incumbent Michael Montuori
East Moriches: Glenn M. Maningo a five-year term; John S. Hulse a three-year term
East Northport: Incumbent Nicholas Macedonio
East Quogue: Incumbent Jonathan Erwin
Gordon Heights: Challenger Joyce Bourne
Great River: James Bishop
Hampton Bays: Incumbent Kevin Kenny
Hauppauge: Incumbent Scott D. Munro
Huntington: A $4.5 million bond for construction and repairs was approved.
Lake Ronkonkoma: Brian Cook
Lakeland: Incumbent Gerald V. O’Mara
Medford: Incumbent Richard Piquette
Melville: James Schuler
Nesconset: Incumbent Ed Swenson
Orient: Richard Milligan
Port Jefferson: Herb Reckenbeil a five-year term; Kevin Bates a four-year seat.
Ridge: Challenger David Hellberg Jr. A proposition for a $7 million bond for the renovation and replacement of the fire department’s headquarters failed.
Rocky Point: Eugene Buchner
St. James: Incumbent Lawrence Montrose
Selden: Challenger Robert White
Setauket: James Makarius Jr.
Smithtown: Challenger Thomas F. Duckham
Wading River: A $4.75 million bond referendum to rebuild a substation was rejected
West Islip: Challenger Michael Mercurio

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Your town

Get the latest news and information about your community, all in one place.

What's this? Send us your feedback

Sign up for community newsletters

Choose a community

advertisement | advertise on newsday