Long Island Now

The latest community buzz and updates. | Sign up for community newsletters.


Islip Town incumbents win party nominations

Islip Town Hall is located at 655 Main

Islip Town Hall is located at 655 Main St. in Islip. (Credit: Erin Geismar)

Islip Town council members Trish Bergin Weichbrodt and Steven J. Flotteron won their party nomination to run for re-election this fall, town officials announced Monday.

The Islip Town Republican Committee said in a news release it had unanimously approved the nominations, which are expected to be confirmed at the party’s May 6 convention.

“Councilman Flotteron and Councilwoman Bergin Weichbrodt hope to continue their work toward returning Islip to firm financial ground in these difficult times,” the GOP committee statement said.

MORE: newsday.com/towns | Free community newsletters
SOCIAL: @nicolefuller | @NewsdayTowns | Google+

Flotteron and Bergin Weichbrodt will face off against Democrats Dafny Irizarry, of East Islip, and Ken Mangan, of Sayville, who are expected to win their party nod. The Islip Town Democratic Committee is expected to confirm Irizarry and Mangan during its convention next month.

Four other candidates screened for the GOP nod: Cameron Alden, a former Suffolk County legislator and current staff attorney at the Islip Community Development Corp.; Paul Mourino, a West Sayville resident who last year attempted to run for the congressional seat held by Rep. Peter King (R-Seaford); Glen Carballo, an Islip banker; and Alison Karppi, a Bayport resident and Islip Housing Authority employee.


advertisement | advertise on newsday

Your town

Get the latest news and information about your community, all in one place.

What's this? Send us your feedback

Sign up for community newsletters

Choose a community

advertisement | advertise on newsday