Long Island Now

The latest community buzz and updates. | Sign up for community newsletters.

N. Hempstead elected officials to be sworn in

Town of North Hempstead Supervisor Judi Bosworth. (May

Town of North Hempstead Supervisor Judi Bosworth. (May 28, 2013) (Credit: Mike Stobe)

North Hempstead’s elected officials will be sworn in at a public ceremony Jan. 5.

Five officials will take part in the inaugural ceremony: incoming supervisor and departing Nassau Legis. Judi Bosworth (D-Great Neck); the new town clerk, the departing Legis. Wayne Wink (D-Roslyn). Three council members have been re-elected: Lee Seeman (District 5); Viviana Russell (District 1); and Angelo Ferrara (District 3).

Council terms last four years; the supervisor term is for two years.

MORE: newsday.com/towns | Free community newsletters  
SOCIAL: @NewsdayTowns | Google+

Former North Hempstead Supervisor Jon Kaiman, in office since 2004, resigned in September to assume a state post heading storm recovery; he also became chairman of the Nassau Interim Finance Authority. John Riordan, previously the town attorney, has served as an interim supervisor since October.

Bosworth defeated town council member Dina De Giorgio, a Republican, for the post in November. Wink, a Democratic Nassau County legislator, defeated Leslie Gross, a six-year incumbent, who had switched party lines.

Democratic Nassau County Legis. Judi Bosworth, who won the race for supervisor in November, will be sworn in by New York State Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli.

The ceremony will take place at 3 p.m. on Jan. 5 at Clinton G. Martin Park.

Tags: North Hempstead , elected officials

advertisement | advertise on newsday


Is there enough open space on Long Island?

Yes No

Your town

Get the latest news and information about your community, all in one place.

What's this? Send us your feedback

Sign up for community newsletters

Choose a community

advertisement | advertise on newsday