On-Base Perception

Newsday's new all-encompassing baseball blog on the Yankees, Mets, MLB and more from around the sport.

David Wright, Robinson Cano announce their Home Run Derby teams

This Newsday composite shows Mets third baseman David

This Newsday composite shows Mets third baseman David Wright, left, and Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, left. (Credit: Jim McIsaac, Kathleen Malone-Van Dyke)

David Wright and Robinson Cano, the National League and American League captains for this year's Home Run Derby at Citi Field, announced their selections for their teams on SportsCenter on Monday.

Wright chose Carlos Gonzalez (Colorado Rockies), Michael Cuddyer (Colorado Rockies) and Bryce Harper (Washington Nationals) for the NL. Cano picked Prince Fielder (Detroit Tigers), Chris Davis (Baltimore Orioles) and left his third pick to be determined for the AL. He will announce his final selection Tuesday.

Cano leads the Yankees with 20 home runs, and Wright has 13.

Fielder, the reigning Home Run Derby champion, has 15 home runs on the season and slugged 28 home runs in last year's event. Davis leads the league in home runs with 33, which matches his career high from last season.

Gonzalez (24 home runs) and Cuddyer (15 home runs) both have the benefit of playing at Coors Field. At 20 years old, Harper, who has 13 home runs this year, will become the youngest player ever to start for the NL, according to ESPN Stats & Information.

The Derby is set for 8 p.m. Monday, July 15.

Tags: Robinson Cano , David Wright , Home Run Derby , MLB , National League , American League , All-Star Game , Carlos Gonzalez , Michael Cuddyer , Bryce Harper , Prince Fielder , Chris Davis

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Baseball highlights


What should Rob Manfred's first priority be as commissioner?

Speed up game Reinstate Pete Rose Regain young fans Something else

Newsday baseball on Twitter

advertisement | advertise on newsday