On-Base Perception

Newsday's new all-encompassing baseball blog on the Yankees, Mets, MLB and more from around the sport.


Mark Teixeira, Robinson Cano win Gold Gloves

Robinson Cano makes a play on a ball

Robinson Cano makes a play on a ball hit by Detroit's Andy Dirks in the fifth inning of Game 2 of the ALCS. (Oct. 14, 2012) (Credit: AP)

Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano were awarded 2012 Rawlings Gold Gloves on Tuesday.

It was the fifth of Teixeira's career and his third with the Yankees. Teixeira committed only one error in 119 regular season games at first base for a .999 fielding percentage.

Cano had six errors on the year for a .992 fielding percentage in 154 games at second base. The award is the second of his career.

Here is a complete list of the 2012 Gold Glove winners:

American League

Pitcher: Jeremy Hellickson, Tampa Bay Rays and Jake Peavy, Chicago White Sox

Catcher: Matt Wieters, Baltimore Orioles

First base: Mark Teixeira, Yankees

Second base: Robinson Cano, Yankees

Third base: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers

Shortstop: JJ Hardy, Baltimore Orioles

Left field: Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals

Center field: Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles

Right field: Josh Reddick, Oakland Athletics

National League

Pitcher: Mark Buehrle, Miami Marlins

Catcher: Yadier Molina, St. Louis Cardinals

First base: Adam LaRoche, Washington Nationals

Second base: Darwin Barney, Chicago Cubs

Third base: Chase Headley, San Diego Padres

Shortstop: Jimmy Rollins, Philadelphia Phillies

Left field: Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies

Center field: Andrew McCutchen, PIttsburgh Pirates

Right field: Jason Heyward, Atlanta Braves

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Baseball highlights

Newsday baseball on Twitter

advertisement | advertise on newsday