On-Base Perception

Newsday's new all-encompassing baseball blog on the Yankees, Mets, MLB and more from around the sport.

Yankees announce 2013 spring training schedule

Andy Pettitte throws batting practice to the Yankees

Andy Pettitte throws batting practice to the Yankees at spring training at George Steinbrenner Stadium in Tampa, Fla. (Feb. 29, 2012) (Credit: Newsday/J. Conrad Williams Jr.)

Thanks to the World Baseball Classic, Yankees fans will get to see their team take the field earlier than usual.

The Yankees announced their 2013 spring training schedule Tuesday. The team's first spring training game will be against Atlanta in Lake Buena Vista on Feb. 23, 11 days after pitchers and catchers report and six days after the rest of the team reports.

The 2013 spring training schedule begins nine days earlier than last season because of the World Baseball Classic, which starts on March 2. As a result, the Yankees will play their earliest spring training game in at least 65 years.

The Yankees will play a total of 33 games, including 17 home games at George M. Steinbrenner Field in Tampa. They'll play 16 Grapefruit League games and will also host the Dominican Republic World Baseball Classic team on March 6.

Below is the Yankees' full spring training schedule:

Sat., Feb. 23 at Atlanta (Lake Buena Vista) 1:05 p.m

Sun., Feb. 24 TORONTO (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Mon., Feb 25 at Baltimore (Sarasota) 1:05 p.m.

Tue., Feb. 26 at Philadelphia (Clearwater) 1:05 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 27 BALTIMORE (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m.

Thur., Feb. 28 TORONTO (split squad, GMS Field) 1:05 p.m., at Houston (split squad, Kissimmee) 1:05 p.m. 

Fri., Mar. 1 PHILADELPHIA (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 2 DETROIT (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 3 at Boston (Ft. Myers) 1:05 p.m.

Tue., Mar. 5 ATLANTA (GMS Field) 7:05 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 6 DOMINICAN REPUBLIC (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Thur., Mar. 7 at St. Louis (Jupiter) 1:05 p.m. 

Fri., Mar. 8 at Miami (Jupiter) 1:05 p.m. 

Sat., Mar. 9 ATLANTA (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Sun., Mar. 10 at Toronto (Dunedin) 1:05 p.m. 

Mon., Mar. 11 ST. LOUIS (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Tue., Mar. 12 at Tampa Bay (Port Charlotte) 1:05 p.m. 

Wed., Mar. 13 PHILADELPHIA (GMS Field) 7:05 p.m. 

Thur., Mar. 14 at Toronto (Dunedin) 1:05 p.m. 

Fri., Mar. 15 MIAMI (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Sat., Mar. 16 PHILADELPHIA (split squad, GMS Field) 1:05 p.m., at Atlanta (split squad, Lake Buena Vista) 5:05 p.m. 

Sun., Mar. 17 at Pittsburgh (Bradenton) 1:05 p.m.

Tue., Mar. 19 at Philadelphia (Clearwater) 1:05 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 20 BOSTON (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Thur., Mar. 21 MINNESOTA (GMS Field) 7:05 p.m. 

Fri., Mar. 22 at Minnesota (Ft. Myers) 1:05 p.m. 

Sat., Mar. 23 at Detroit (Lakeland) 1:05 p.m. 

Sun., Mar. 24 TAMPA BAY (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m. 

Tue., Mar. 26 HOUSTON (GMS Field) 7:05 p.m. 

Wed., Mar. 27 at Baltimore (Sarasota) 7:05 p.m. 

Thur., Mar. 28 PITTSBURGH (GMS Field) 1:05 p.m.  

Tags: yankees , spring training , dominican republic , world baseball classic , george m. steinbrenner field , tampa

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Baseball highlights

Vote

What should Rob Manfred's first priority be as commissioner?

Speed up game Reinstate Pete Rose Regain young fans Something else

Newsday baseball on Twitter

advertisement | advertise on newsday