David Stern elected to Basketball Hall of Fame

David Stern in a 2010 file photo. (Apr.

David Stern in a 2010 file photo. (Apr. 22, 2010) Photo Credit: AP

advertisement | advertise on newsday

NEW ORLEANS - It didn't take long for David Stern to be recognized for his work as NBA commissioner. Stern, who retired Feb. 1 after 30 years in the position, was elected to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Friday. Elected by the contributors committee, he will be enshrined in Springfield, Mass., in August.

Joining Stern as direct elects for the class of 2014 are former Knick Nat "Sweetwater" Clifton (early African-American pioneers committee), Lithuania star Sarunas Marciulionis (by the international committee), former Pacers coach Bob "Slick" Leonard (ABA committee), and four-time All-Star point guard Guy Rodgers (veterans committee).

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Former Heat stars Alonzo Mourning and Tim Hardaway are among the finalists for induction.

Players Kevin Johnson, Mitch Richmond and Spencer Haywood; college coaches Eddie Sutton, Nolan Richardson and Gary Williams; women's coach Harley Redin and the Immaculata University's AIAW championship teams of the early 1970s also are finalists.

The entire Class of 2014 will be announced April 7 before the NCAA men's championship game.

Subscribe to Newsday’s sports newsletter for stories, photos and videos about your favorite New York teams plus national sports news and events.


Newsday.com now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.

You also may be interested in: