Double Dribble

An NBA blog from Newsday's Bobby Bonett

Jeremy Lin among Sportsmanship Award finalists

New York Knicks' Jeremy Lin looks on before

New York Knicks' Jeremy Lin looks on before an NBA basketball game against the Cleveland Cavaliers. Lin will miss the rest of the regular season because he needs knee surgery that will sideline him six weeks and could leave the Knicks without their star point guard in the playoffs, if they make it that far. (March 31, 2012) (Credit: AP)

Injury may keep Jeremy Lin from being named the league's Most Improved Player, but the Knicks point guard now has another chance at some NBA hardward.

Lin was named one of six NBA finalists for the 2011-12 NBA Sportsmanship Award. The award is given to the player who "best represents the ideals of sportmanship on the court."

The finalists, one from each division, were narrowed down by a panel of five former NBA players. The award winner will be voted on by fellow players.

Joining Lin as finalists are Cavs forward Antawn Jamison, Mavericks guard Jason Kidd, Clippers guard Chris Paul, Heat forward Shane Battier and Timberwolves guard Luke Ridnour.

Joe Dumars won the inaugural award in 1996. Other notable winners include David Robinson (2000-01), Ray Allen (2002-03), Grant Hill (three times, last in 2009-10) and Stephen Curry (last year).

Tags: Antawn Jamison , Jason Kidd , Chris Paul , Shane Battier , Luke Ridnour , Jeremy Lin , award

advertisement | advertise on newsday

NBA videos

advertisement | advertise on newsday