Double Dribble

An NBA blog from Newsday's Bobby Bonett

NBA Defensive Player of the Year snubbed from All-Defensive First Team

Knicks center Tyson Chandler talks to the media

Knicks center Tyson Chandler talks to the media as the Knicks clean out their lockers the day after being eliminated from the playoffs by Miami. (May 10, 2012) (Credit: Patrick E. McCarthy)

Wrap your head around this one: Tyson Chandler, the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year, didn't make the NBA's All-Defensive First Team.

The voting panel, which consists of the league's 30 head coaches, gave Dwight Howard the nod over Chandler as the starting center for the first team.

Members of the media voted Chandler the league's Defensive Player of the Year.

Howard was joined by LeBron James -- the leading vote-getter -- Serge Ibaka, Chris Paul and Tony Allen.

Chandler was named to the second team, alongside Kevin Garnett, Luol Deng, Rajon Rondo and Kobe Bryant.

Howard received 16 first-team votes and nine second-team votes for a total of 41 points. Chandler, meanwhile, received 13 first-team votes and 10 second-team votes for a total of 36 points.

Marc Gasol received the final first-team vote among centers.

James received the most first-place votes (24) and points (53) of all players. Ibaka was second in both categories (20, 47).

Other notable vote-getters included Andre Iguodala (19 points, four first-place votes), Iman Shumpert (13, 4), Russell Westbrook (9, 2) and Dwyane Wade (5, 1).

Carlos Boozer, notoriously a liability on defense, received one vote for the second team.

Tags: awards , LeBron James , Serge Ibaka , Dwight Howard , Chris Paul , Tony Allen , Kevin Garnett , Luol Deng , Tyson Chandler , Rajon Rondo , Kobe Bryant

advertisement | advertise on newsday

NBA videos

advertisement | advertise on newsday