Knicks 'zzone

Newsday's Al Iannazzone takes you inside the Knicks.

Tyson Chandler wins NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award

Tyson Chandler helped bring a defensive mentality back to the Knicks and will be rewarded for that today.

Chandler will be named the NBA Defensive Player of the Year and will receive the award at the Knicks practice facility. Chandler is the first Knicks’ player to win the award since its inception in 1983.

The Knicks finished 11th in the NBA in points allowed (94.7) and 10th in field goal defense (44.2 percent) during the regular season. In 2010-11, the Knicks gave up 105.7 points, ranking 27th in the league. They also were 26th in opponent’s field goal percentage, letting foes shoot 47.2 percent from the field.

Chandler, who was a main component in the Dallas Mavericks winning the NBA title, averaged 6.5 defensive rebounds this season and 1.44 blocks. He missed four games this season and the Knicks allowed 108.3 points in those contests.

The Knicks acquired Chandler from the Mavericks in a three-team sign-and-trade that included Washington. Andy Rautins was sent to the Dallas and Ronny Turiaf to the Wizards. To clear space for Chandler, the Knicks also waived Chauncey Billups through the amnesty clause.

Chandler beat out Oklahoma City Thunder big man and NBA shot-blocking leader Serge Ibaka (3.65) and Orlando Magic center Dwight Howard, the Defensive Player of the Year the previous three years.

Tags: Knicks , Tyson Chandler , Dwight Howard , Chauncey Billups , Ronny Turiaf , Serge Ibaka

advertisement | advertise on newsday

NBA videos


Which team will Carmelo Anthony sign with?

Knicks Lakers Mavericks Rockets Bulls Another team


advertisement | advertise on newsday