Top 10 March Madness moments in history

10. GET SMART 1987 NCAA Championship: Indiana 74,

1987 NCAA Championship: Indiana 74, Syracuse 73
Keith Smart was the hero for Indiana in the 1987 national championship against Jim Boeheim’s Syracuse team. Smart’s 16-foot jumper over Syracuse’s Howard Triche with five seconds left gave Indiana a 74-73 win and Bobby Knight his third and final national title. Smart, who transferred to Indiana after two years at Garden City Community College in Kansas, had been benched earlier in the second half, but returned to score 12 of Indiana’s final 15 points. (Credit: AP (1987))

1 of 10
Upload Photo

It all started in 1939 when Oregon, coached by Howard Hobson, beat Ohio State to win the first NCAA Tournament championship. That game took place at Northwestern. March Madness has since evolved into a cultural phenomenon.

Enter your email address to subscribe Sports Now newsletter

Comments now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.