On campus

News, thoughts and more from the world of college sports across the nation and Long Island.

Miguel Maysonet, Chuck Priore earn Big South honors

Stony Brook running back Miguel Maysonet (5) turns

Stony Brook running back Miguel Maysonet (5) turns the corner for a long gain near the end of the first half. (Oct. 29, 2011) (Credit: Joseph D. Sullivan)

Stony Brook University running back Miguel Maysonet was named offensive player of the year and Chuck Priore coach of the year as the Big South Conference handed out its post-season awards Tuesday.

Brock Jackolski, the Seawolves’ other outstanding back, and offensive lineman Joe Faiella, made first team all-conference. Quarterback Kyle Essington was named to the second team on offense. He also was on the all-academic team. On defense, second-team honors went to Ryan Haber, Jawara Dudley, Roosevelt Kirk and Dominic Reyes. Place kicker Wesley Skiffington was named to the special teams.

Maysonet is second in the nation in rushing yards per game at 135 and yards per carry at 6.94. His 1,485 rushing yards this season is second-most in conference history. He had 16 touchdowns to tie for the league lead and rushed for 100 yards in a game eight times.

"It means a lot to me," Maysonet said in a statement. "I’m not sure I could have imagined I’d be in this position after [transferring] from Hofstra. I’m speechless, humble. The credit should go to my teammates and coaching staff.’’

Priore earns his second Big South coach of the year award in three years after leading Stony Brook to the first 6-0 record in conference history. The Seawolves lead the FCS in scoring offense with 39.64 point per game.


Tags: Stony Brook , Big South , Miguel Maysonet , Chuck Priore , Brock Jackolski , Joe Faiella , Kyle Essington , Ryan Haber , Jawara Dudley , Roosevelt Kirk , Dominic Reyes , Wesley Skiffington

advertisement | advertise on newsday

advertisement | advertise on newsday