NFL: A league of hope

Kansas City Chiefs coach Andy Reid directs his

Kansas City Chiefs coach Andy Reid directs his team during the first half against the Dallas Cowboys. (Sept. 15, 2013) (Credit: AP)

Unpredictability is one of the hallmarks of the NFL, and 2013 is living up to that reputation. Halfway through the season, all but one division has at least one team that's either in first place or tied for first that didn't win the division in 2012. The only exception, of course, is the AFC East, a division that is owned by the Patriots.

Three of the teams at the top of their respective divisions -- the Lions, Chiefs and Saints -- finished last or tied for last in 2012. So it looks like the streak of at least one team winning the division a year after finishing last the previous season will be extended to 11 straight years, the longest streak in league history.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

NFL video

advertisement | advertise on newsday