NFL owners pass 'Hard Knocks' rule

New York Jets head coach Rex Ryan talks New York Jets head coach Rex Ryan talks with defensive back Antonio Cromartie, right, as a Hard Knocks film crew record the conversation during morning practice at the team's NFL football training camp in Cortland, N.Y. (Aug. 4, 2010) Photo Credit: AP

advertisement | advertise on newsday

WASHINGTON - The NFL is trying to spread "Hard Knocks" around.

At their fall meetings Tuesday, owners approved a measure that allows the league to choose which team will be the focus of the documentary-style show if no club volunteers.

Certain teams would be exempt from being forced to participate in the filming:

-- those with new coaches

-- those that reached the playoffs in one of the previous two seasons

-- those that appeared on "Hard Knocks" within the preceding 10 years

So far, only seven of the 32 NFL teams have been on the series, which airs on HBO: Dallas Cowboys (twice), Cincinnati Bengals (twice), New York Jets, Baltimore Ravens, Miami Dolphins, Jacksonville Jaguars, and Kansas City Chiefs.

Subscribe to Newsday’s sports newsletter for stories, photos and videos about your favorite New York teams plus national sports news and events.

You also may be interested in: