Paul Pandolfi scored 15 points and grabbed seven rebounds as No. 8 South Side, sparked by a balanced scoring attack and two late free throws, scored a 62-59 upset of top-seeded Lawrence in a Nassau Class A quarterfinal boys basketball game Tuesday.

Ahead 60-57, South Side's Matt Pandolfi, who finished with five points, hit a pair of free throws with 57 seconds left to give the Cyclones (11-8) a 62-57 advantage.

Brendan McDerby had 14 points, Alex Sorenson had 13 points and Dane Flaherty chipped in 10 points in the win.

Eddie Robinson scored 19 points to lead Lawrence (15-4).

South Side will face No. 12 Roslyn in a semifinal on Feb. 27 at SUNY Old Westbury.

Roslyn 72, Mineola 54: Mark Gjonlekaj had 16 points and 15 rebounds for No. 12 Roslyn in an upset of fourth-seeded Mineola in a Class A quarterfinal. Terrence Pierce had 16 points for Roslyn (14-5).

Jericho 63, Great Neck North 49: Garrett Johnson had 24 points and nine rebounds for No. 2 Jericho (16-3) in a Class A quarterfinal.

Johnson scored the 1,000th point of his career in Jericho's first-round win over Seaford on Friday.

Erik Kanzer had 20 points and seven rebounds for Jericho, which will play No. 11 Valley Stream South in a semifinal Feb. 27 at SUNY Old Westbury.

Valley Stream South 60, Hewlett 49: Will Knight had 10 of his 13 points in the second half for No. 11 Valley Stream South (11-8) in an upset of No. 3 Hewlett in a Class A quarterfinal.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Dana King had 16 points and seven assists, Diego Maldonado had 16 points and Nnamdi Nwaigwe scored 11 points and grabbed 11 rebounds.

Deer Park 66, Smithtown West 65: Keith Williams had 13 points and blocked a potential game-winning three-pointer with two seconds remaining as No. 3 Deer Park (16-4) held off a late rally by Smithtown West in a Suffolk Class AA quarterfinal.

Aaren Edmead had 25 points and Rome Jenkins 14 points in the win.

Deer Park will face No. 2 Brentwood in a semifinal Friday at 5 p.m. at Longwood. Ryan Hickey had 35 points for Smithtown West, which battled back from a 56-36 deficit with four minutes left.

Amityville 70, Bayport-Blue Point 43: Mike Smith scored 18 points, Travis Dickerson added 15 points, eight rebounds and three assists and Kavione Green chipped in nine points and 11 rebounds for top-seeded Amityville (17-2) in a Class A semifinal.

Amityville will play No. 2 Harborfields in the final Saturday at 2:30 p.m. at Longwood.

Harborfields 78, Islip 42: Jon Patron had 20 points and 10 rebounds, Chris Brady had eight points, 12 rebounds and five blocks and Tom Zazzarino 13 points for No. 2 Harborfields (15-3) in a Suffolk Class A semifinal.


Harborfields 68, Islip 48: Bridgit Ryan had 15 points and 10 rebounds and Amy Werbitsky 13 points and 10 rebounds for No. 1 Harborfields (18-1) in a Class A semifinal.

Toni Deren, who had 11 points and five assists, hit two three-pointers at the start of the third as Harborfields outscored Islip 21-10 in the quarter for a 53-39 lead.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Harborfields advances to play No. 3 Glenn in the final Friday at 7 p.m. at St. Joseph's College.

Glenn 57, Shoreham-Wading River 49: Emma Klis had 16 points, nine rebounds, five assists and two steals, Tanna Mohammed had 15 points and Meghan Haber 14 points to lead No. 3 Glenn (18-2) in a Class A semifinal.

St. John the Baptist 60, St. Dominic 29: Sophomore Zoe Riis-Fallica went 5-for-5 on three-pointers for a career-high 15 points and Meghan Oberg had four points, eight rebounds and five assists to lead St. John the Baptist (9-4) in CHSAA.

Senior Dana Campbell scored seven points, including her 1,000th career point for St. Dominic.

Sacred Heart 49, Our Lady of Mercy 33: Victoria Spagnolo scored nine points, Erin Tully grabbed 12 rebounds and Maggie Rogers added eight points for Sacred Heart (5-8) in CHSAA.

advertisement | advertise on newsday


Goldschlag sets mark. Bellmore-Merrick junior Sydney Goldschlag shot 196 in the Nassau Air Rifle championship.

Goldschlag set a county record with the score, beating the previous mark of 195 set by Valley Stream District's Stephen Zawislak in 2008, according to Bellmore-Merrick coach Michael Marino.

Valley Stream District was led by Kristen Mantel, who shot 195, won the team championship.