BINGHAMTON -- Matt Licciardi assisted on all four of Taylor Strough's goals and won 10 of 12 second-half faceoffs as Cold Spring Harbor capture the state Class C boys lacrosse championship, defeating Cazenovia, 9-8, Saturday at Vestal High School's Dick Hoover Stadium.

Will Doyle made three of his 10 saves in the final minute as the Seahwaks (19-1) barely held off the Lakers (20-3), who trailed 9-6 early in the fourth quarter.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Riley Cox and Ian Laviano scored two goals each for Cold Spring Harbor, which won its first state title since 2006.

"We had the jitters early," CSH coach Dennis Bonn said of the Seahawks' 3-1 first- quarter deficit. "But we settled down and just kept playing. We kept the ball moving against the zone. Taylor shot the ball really well."