Stating their case. Lawrence quarterback Joe Capobianco capped off a sensational junior year -- in which he led the Golden Tornadoes to the Long Island Class III championship and set an L.I. record with 38 touchdown passes -- by being named the state Class A Player of the Year by the New York State Sportswriters Association.

In leading Lawrence to a 12-0 record, Capobianco completed 77.7 percent of his passes for 2,609 yards with three interceptions, He was a first-team Newsday All-L.I. selection and one of 14 L.I. players who earned first-team all-state honors, according to the NYSSWAA. The others:

Class A: Eddie Robinson, WR, Lawrence; John Haggart, DE, Sayville; Scott D'Antonio, LB, Garden City.

Class AA: Billy Andrle, RB, East Meadow; Anthony Pintabona, WR, Oceanside; Giancarlo Carvalho, OL, EM; Steven Casali, LB, Sachem East; Marc Coles, LB, Floyd; Chris Hurtado, PK, Floyd.

Class B: Johnnie Akins, RB, Roosevelt.

Class C: Eric Schweitzer, LB; Jake Carlock, DB; Alex Malhas, PK, all of Babylon.

advertisement | advertise on newsday


Thorp Award Sunday

Superstorm Sandy forced Nassau to postpone its annual awards program until noon Sunday at Crest Hollow Country Club in Woodbury. Newsday will present the 2012 Thorp Award to the county's most outstanding player. Several other individual awards will be handed out, as well as the Rutgers Cup, given to the Nassau team of the year, as voted by the coaches.