For the first time in 37 years horse racing has a Triple Crown winner as American Pharoah wins the Belmont Stakes with jockey Victor Espinoza guiding him to the finish line on June 6, 2015 in Elmont. (Credit: Newsday staff)

Triple Crown winners

Since the 19th century, many have tried. Some even have come close.

But only these 12 horses have won horse racing's Triple Crown: the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes in the same year.

American Pharoah

2015: American Pharoah Starting from the fifth post
(Credit: Newsday / J. Conrad Williams Jr.)

2015: American Pharoah
Starting from the fifth post position, American Pharoah defeated Frosted by 5 1/2 lengths in the 147th Belmont Stakes, ending a 37-year Triple Crown drought.

Subscribe to Newsday’s sports newsletter for stories, photos and videos about your favorite New York teams plus national sports news and events.

Related Media

The horses break from the gate at the 'Test of the Champion' Belmont Stakes documentary I'll Have Another was scratched from the Belmont Triple Crown near-misses in horseracing history Jockey John Velazquez celebrates after riding Union Rags Belmont Stakes winners


Newsday.com now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.