Upload Photo
A BELMONT FIRST The Belmont Stakes, which dates
Caption / Share

The Belmont Stakes, which dates to 1867, is named for August Belmont I, the first president of the American Jockey Club who made his fortune in the banking industry in the late 1800s. On June 19 of that year, four horses saddled at Jerome Park for the initial Belmont, then 1 5/8 miles. Ruthless, a New York-bred filly, was the winner (by a head) in 3:05, followed by DeCourcey, Rivoli and Monday. The winning trainer was A.J. Minor and the breeder was Francis Morris. In the history of the race, only 22 fillies have been entered, and only Ruthless, Tanya (1905) and Rags to Riches (2007) made it to the winner's circle.

1 of 17

Share this photo

Belmont Stakes memorable moments

Look back at some of the great stories, horses, jockeys, trainers and owners associated with the Belmont Stakes.