Upload Photo
An Iditarod musher crosses frozen water Sunday, March
Caption / Share

An Iditarod musher crosses frozen water Sunday, March 9, 2014, between the Shaktoolik and Koyuk checkpoints, about 800 miles into the nearly 1,000-mile race from Anchorage to Nome, Alaska. The leaders Monday were within 100 miles of the finish line. (Credit: AP / Bob Hallinen)

1 of 30

Share this photo

Iditarod 2014

The 42nd running of the historic Iditarod sled dog race across 1,000 miles of Alaska from Anchorage to Nome began March 2, 2014, with 69 teams. It ended with the victory of Dallas Seavey of Willow, Alaska, who crossed the finish line before dawn Tuesday, March 11.

Subscribe to Newsday’s sports newsletter for stories, photos and videos about your favorite New York teams plus national sports news and events.


Newsday.com now uses Facebook for our comment boards. Please read our guidelines and connect your Facebook account to comment.