Michael Savage, the conservative talk show host, was among the 2016 inductees named Monday by the National Radio Hall of Fame, beating out three other nominees in the “Spoken Word On-Air Personality” category.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

One of the three was the team of Mike Francesa and Chris Russo, the former “Mike and the Mad Dog” partners at WFAN. That category was one of two that were decided by a vote of the listening public, and WFAN encouraged listeners to vote for Francesa and Russo in a series of on-air promotions.

Savage and the other nominees, Diane Rehm and Sean Hannity, are heard nationally and focus on political issues.