Serena Williams, the top-ranked women’s player in the world, headlines the field for next month’s U.S. Open. The United State Tennis Association announced the women’s and men’s singles fields on Wednesday.

Defending U.S. Open champion and world No. 1 Novak Djokovic, headlines the men’s field.

Williams, a six-time U.S. Open champion, won Wimbledon earlier this month, giving her 22 Grand Slam singles titles for her career and tying Steffi Graf for the most in the Open Era.

In all, 10 of the top 11 women’s singles players will be competing in the U.S. Open. Australian Open champion and world No. 2 Angelique Kerber, French Open champion and world No. 3 Garbiñe Muguruza, and two-time U.S. Open champion and world No. 7 Venus Williams are in the field. Agnieszka Radwanska, world No. 4, and world No. 5 Simona Halep will also be competing.

Victoria Azarenka, the world No. 6 and a two-time U.S. Open singles finalist, will not compete in this year’s US Open after announcing her pregnancy last week. Maria Sharapova, the 2006 U.S. Open champion, will also not compete due to an International Tennis Federation anti-doping provisional suspension, which is currently under appeal.

On the men’s side, the top four singles players in the world are entered. Djokovic, world No. 2 and reigning Wimbledon champion Andy Murray, five-time U.S. Open champion and world No. 3 Roger Federer, and two-time U.S. Open champion and world No. 4 Rafael Nadal headline the men’s singles field.

Stan Wawrinka, the 2014 Australian Open and 2015 French Open champion and world No. 5, world No. 6 Kei Nishikori, world No. 7 Milos Raonic, of Canada, world No. 8 Tomas Berdych, world No. 9 Dominic Thiem and world No. 10 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga are also entered for the men.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

The U.S. Open will be played from Aug. 29 -Sept. 11 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing.