Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo has appointed two bankers to the Long Island Regional Economic Development Council.

They are Linda Armyn, senior vice president of corporate affairs of Bethpage Federal Credit Union, and John T. DeCelle, president and CEO of Nassau Financial Federal Credit Union.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

The council, one of 10 across the state, is implementing a five-year economic development plan that it devised for the Island. The council also reviews and recommends applications for state business aid.

The new members succeed Rupert Hopkins, president of XSB Inc., a Setauket-based software developer, and Hubert Keen, former president of Farmingdale State College.

Hopkins was one of the council’s original members when it was established by Cuomo in 2011. Members are unpaid volunteers.

Keen joined the council three years ago and resigned upon his retirement from Farmingdale State College and before being tapped to lead Nassau Community College.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

The council now has 23 members, led by chairwoman Lt. Gov. Kathleen Hochul and co-vice chairmen Kevin Law, president of the Long Island Association, and Stuart Rabinowitz, Hofstra University president. Fifteen are original members.