New members of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery leadership team recently began their terms, including ASDS/ASDSA President Naomi Lawrence, M.D.

Rolling Meadows, Ill. (PRWEB) November 04, 2015

Nov. 4, 2015, Rolling Meadows, Ill. – Naomi Lawrence, M.D., recently began her term as president of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery Association.

Lawrence, her fellow officers and the ASDS/ASDSA Boards of Directors will lead the largest specialty organization exclusively representing dermatologic surgeons.

“It is an honor and a privilege to take this leadership position,” Lawrence said. “I have no doubt we can take the Society to the next level with an emphasis on member engagement and promoting the unparalleled expertise ASDS members possess as the pioneers and innovators of dermatologic procedures. Several exciting projects are under way that will allow us to reach these objectives and help position our members for continued success.”

Lawrence – head of the Division of Dermatology Section of Procedural Dermatology and Professor of Clinical Medicine at Cooper University Health Care in New Jersey – has served on numerous ASDS committees, work groups and task forces since 1994.

She was the 2007 recipient of the ASDS President’s Award, served as Annual Meeting Chair in 2003 and has been a mentor in the Society’s Future Leaders Network as well as an ASDS Visiting Professor. Lawrence is an Assistant Editor of the Dermatologic Surgery journal, the author of more than 70 publications and was a contributor to the Society’s Primer in Dermatologic Surgery: A Study Companion 2nd Edition for medical students.

Lawrence takes over for George J. Hruza, M.D., M.B.A., who becomes the Society’s Immediate Past President.

The new ASDS leadership team also includes President-Elect Thomas E. Rohrer, M.D., and Vice President Lisa M. Donofrio, M.D., in addition to a new Treasurer and three new members of the Boards of Directors.

Rohrer is a physician at SkinCare Physicians in Chestnut Hill, Mass., and an Adjunct Associate Professor of Dermatology at Brown University in Rhode Island. Among his numerous distinctions during his 20 years with ASDS, Rohrer is a past Chair of the Annual Meeting Work Group and an Excellence in Education award recipient. Rohrer, an Assistant Editor for the Dermatologic Surgery journal, will become President in 2016-17.

advertisement | advertise on newsday

“I will passionately fight for strong advocacy for all aspects of dermatology and dermatologic surgery on both the national and state level,” Rohrer said. “We must align with other organizations both within and outside of dermatology. We will be far more successful being proactive than reactive.”

Donofrio is a partner at the Savin Center PC in New Haven, Conn. She also is an Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Dermatology at the Yale University School of Medicine and Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Dermatology at the Tulane University School of Medicine. Donofrio has served on numerous ASDS committees and work groups and is an Assistant Editor of the Dermatologic Surgery journal.

As Vice President, Donofrio will ascend to President-Elect in 2016-17 and President in 2017-18.
“My goals are to create a unified voice for our specialty, to increase dermatologic surgery procedural requirements within our residency programs and to defend our position against legislative efforts that threaten to pigeonhole our scope of practice as dermatologists,” said Donofrio.

Elected as the new Treasurer is Mathew M. Avram, M.D., J.D., of Boston. Avram is Director at the MGH Dermatology Laser and Cosmetic Center. He also is an Assistant Professor in the Harvard Medical School Department of Dermatology and Affiliate Faculty at the Wellman Center for Photomedicine at Massachusetts General Hospital.

Avram served on the ASDS Board of Directors from 2011-14 and currently is Chair of the Cosmetic Dermatologic Surgery Fellowship Accreditation Work Group while also participating on the Survey Work Group. Avram, a Contributing Editor to the Dermatologic Surgery journal, will serve a three-year term as Treasurer.

“I am dedicated to our specialty and this organization,” Avram said. “I will continue to advocate and work tirelessly for the best interests of our membership, our specialty and our patients.”

Elected to three-year terms to the ASDS/ASDSA Boards of Directors are: Jeremy Bordeaux, M.D., M.P.H., of Cleveland; Hayes B. Gladstone, M.D., of San Ramon, Calif.; and Kavita Mariwalla, M.D., of West Islip, N.Y. The three newly elected Board members will serve until the 2018 ASDS Annual Meeting.

About ASDS
The American Society for Dermatologic Surgery is the largest specialty organization exclusively representing dermatologic surgeons who have unique training and experience to treat the health, function and beauty of your skin. ASDS members are pioneers in the field. Many are involved in the clinical studies that bring popular treatments to revitalize skin and fill and diminish wrinkles to the forefront. Their work has helped create and enhance many of the devices that remove blemishes, hair and fat, and tighten skin. Dermatologic surgeons also are experts in skin cancer prevention, detection and treatment. As the incidence of skin cancer rises, dermatologic surgeons are committed to taking steps to minimize the life-threatening effects of this disease. For more information, visit

Follow us:
Follow ASDS on Twitter:
Become a fan of ASDS on Facebook:
Locate a dermatologic surgeon in your area:

Jay Schwab
Communications Manager
American Society for Dermatologic Surgery

advertisement | advertise on newsday

For the original version on PRWeb visit: