Scattered Clouds 42° Good Morning
Scattered Clouds 42° Good Morning

'Hunger Games' books guide

Cover of the book

Cover of the book "The Hunger Games " by author Suzanne Collins. Photo Credit: Handout/

A quick guide to Suzanne Collins' bestselling trilogy:

1. 'THE HUNGER GAMES' (2008)

After a devastating war, North America has been divided into a dozen strictly controlled districts. Each district is forced to send a teenage boy and girl -- as "tributes" -- to participate in a fight to the death, an annual televised spectacle. Sixteen-year-old Katniss, an illegal hunter, stands a better chance at survival than recent tributes from poverty-stricken District 12. Her co-tribute, Peeta, reveals in the pre-fight interview show that he is in love with Katniss. Cameras roll as the 24 armed teenagers enter the arena to fight.

2. 'CATCHING FIRE' (2009)

In Book Two, the country's president suspects that the act of defiance that allowed both Katniss and Peeta to emerge alive from the Games is secretly fueling resentment against the Capitol. Rumors of rebellion abound. The following year's Hunger Games are staged with a new twist: Living winners will compete again. During the contest, Katniss and Peeta form alliances with other districts and discover a way to escape the arena. Thwarting the Capitol is an act of war; the rebels swoop in to rescue them.

3. 'MOCKINGJAY' (2010)

Leading the rebels in Book Three is Katniss' childhood friend and Peeta's rival for her affections, Gale. As civil war rages, Katniss despairs to realize that she is more useful as a symbol of the rebellion than as a fighter. In a classic tale of battle, the question ultimately becomes whether the principles of conflict are worth the price.

More Entertainment