Good Morning
Good Morning

Gabriel García Márquez's 5 classic books

"One Hundred Years of Solitude" was published in

"One Hundred Years of Solitude" was published in 1967. An English translation by Gregory Rabassa came out in 1970.

Gabriel García Márquez, who won the Nobel Prize for literature in 1982, was celebrated for his magical realist fiction, as well as his journalism. Here are five of his classic books:

ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF SOLITUDE (1967). García Márquez's sweeping multigenerational novel about the Buendía family and the fictional town of Macondo introduced the world to Latin American magical realism and sold more than 50 million copies.

CHRONICLE OF A DEATH FORETOLD (1981). A nonlinear literary detective story that reveals the murderer of Santiago Nasar in the first chapter and proceeds to untangle why he was killed.

LOVE IN THE TIME OF CHOLERA (1985). A love story that spans 50 years, the novel centers on a couple whose youthful love affair is resumed again in old age. It was made into a film in 2007.

NEWS OF A KIDNAPPING (1997). This work of nonfiction recounts the ordeal of 10 victims kidnapped by Colombian drug trafficker Pablo Escobar, head of the Medellín drug cartel.

LIVING TO TELL THE TALE (2002). The first volume of García Márquez's autobiography recounts the author's impoverished childhood and youth in Colombia.

More Entertainment