There's a first time for everything. The Floyd football

team won its first Long Island Class I championship with a 34-27 victory over

Baldwin on Nov. 26. Last night, the Colonials huddled around the Rutgers

Trophy, another first in school history.

Floyd was recognized as Suffolk's most outstanding team after the Colonials

garnered 124 points to edge Bellport for the coveted Rutgers Trophy. It was

the first undefeated season in Floyd history.

"I'd have to say that I'm totally shocked and excited all at the same

time," Floyd coach Paul Longo said. "It's an extreme honor that the coaches

recognized our team as the most outstanding in Suffolk. It was a great season."

advertisement | advertise on newsday

Bellport finished second in the voting with 110 points. The Clippers

finished with an 11-0 record and won the Long Island Class II championship with

an 8-0 win over previously unbeaten Garden City (10-1). The Clippers also

reeled off an unprecedented three consecutive playoff shutouts, the first time

that was done in Long Island playoff history. Still, the Clippers' dominance

wasn't enough to sway the majority of the voters.

Bellport earned the Rutgers Trophy in 2001.

Huntington (10-1) claimed the Long Island Class III title with a 27-14

victory over Plainedge. The Blue Devils compiled 53 points and won the school's

first Long Island crown and handed storybook Plainedge (10-1) its first loss

advertisement | advertise on newsday

of the season.

Huntington claimed the Rutgers Trophy in 1952. Members of that team enjoyed

the Blue Devils' Class III victory over Plainedge on Nov. 26.

The Coach of the Year vote was tied at 21 votes apiece between Longo and

Bellport's Joe Cipp Jr.