38° Good Afternoon
38° Good Afternoon
Long Island

7 LI officials named to advisory group for Sandy Rebuilding Task Force

Nassau County Executive Edward Mangano, Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone and five other Long Island officials have been named to an advisory group for the federal Hurricane Sandy Rebuilding Task Force that met in New York City Friday for the first time, federal officials said.

Hempstead Supervisor Kate Murray, Long Beach City Council president Scott Mandel, Island Park Mayor James Ruzicka, Babylon Supervisor Richard Schaffer and Shinnecock trustee chairman Randy King also were named to the group.

The 35-member advisory group, with officials from New York, New Jersey, Maryland and Rhode Island, will meet regularly with the task force to share their concerns and suggestions about the rebuilding effort. The task force has offices in New York and New Jersey.

"Our work is guided by the principle that rebuilding must be a locally driven process and each community must rebuild according to their vision," HUD Secretary Shaun Donovan, task force chairman, said in a statement about the meeting.

The advisory group also includes New York Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo and New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg, as well as governors of the other four states hit by superstorm Sandy.

Latest Long Island News