49° Good Evening
49° Good Evening
Long IslandData

Vetoes and overrides from 1798 to now

Vetoes have been overridden 111 times in American history. Here are details from the U.S. Senate on how each president did with Congress on vetoes, pocket vetoes and overrides. A pocket veto occurs when the president does not sign a bill within 10 days and Congress adjourns, losing the ability to override the veto. Posted Sept. 28, 2016.

President YearsRegular vetoesPocket vetoesTotalOverrides
Barack H. Obama 2009-present120121
George W. Bush 2001-2009120124
William J. Clinton 1993-2001361372
George H. W. Bush1989-19932915441
Ronald Reagan1981-19893939789
Jimmy Carter 1977-19811318312
Gerald R. Ford 1974-197748186612
Richard M. Nixon 1969-19742617437
Lyndon B. Johnson 1963-19691614300
John F. Kennedy 1961-1963129210
Dwight D. Eisenhower 1953-1961731081812
Harry S. Truman 1945-19531807025012
Franklin D. Roosevelt 1933-19453722636359
Herbert Hoover 1929-19332116373
Calvin Coolidge 1923-19292030504
Warren G. Harding1921-19235160
Woodrow Wilson 1913-19213311446
William H. Taft 1909-1913309391
Theodore Roosevelt 1901-19094240821
William McKinley 1897-1901636420
Grover Cleveland 1893-1897421281705
Benjamin Harrison 1889-18931925441
Grover Cleveland 1885-18893041104142
Chester A. Arthur 1881-188548121
James A. Garfield 18810000
Rutherford B. Hayes 1877-1881121131
Ulysses S. Grant1869-18774548934
Andrew Johnson 1865-18692182915
Abraham Lincoln 1861-18652570
James Buchanan 1857-18614370
Franklin Pierce 1853-18579095
Millard Fillmore 1850-18530000
Zachary Taylor 1849-18500000
James K. Polk 1845-18492130
John Tyler 1841-184564101
William H. Harrison 18410000
Martin Van Buren 1837-18410110
Andrew Jackson1829-183757120
John Q. Adams 1825-18290000
James Monroe 1817-18251010
James Madison 1809-18175270
Thomas Jefferson 1801-18090000
John Adams 1797-18010000
George Washington 1789-17972020