44° Good Afternoon
44° Good Afternoon
Long IslandEducation

10 LI students honored for work at NY State Science Congress

Nicholas Barshay, left, and Jalaj Mehta competed in

Nicholas Barshay, left, and Jalaj Mehta competed in the New York State Science Congress. Credit: Hauppauge School District

Ten Long Island students were among those winning highest honors, high honors or honors this month at the New York State Science Congress.

This year’s competition included dozens of students statewide presenting poster-style projects at the University of Buffalo. To reach the state level, local students first vied in the Long Island Science Congress at St. Anthony’s High School in South Huntington.

Those winning highest honors and $500 were Chapin Zerner of Commack Middle School and Giselle Raquinha of South Woods Middle School in Syosset. Winning high honors and $250 were Elizabet Isayeva and Jacob Sabu of Hewlett High School and Aman Amjad and Roney Biju of Woodland Middle School in East Meadow. Those winning honors and $100 were Aashini Shah of W. Tresper Clarke High School in Westbury and Aryaram Anand, Evan Ni and Rohan Surana of Commack Middle School.

Other local students who reached the state level and their school districts were: Hadi Aziz, Timothy Langone and Alex Negrin, Bellmore-Merrick; Emma Jones and Elianna Rivera, East Meadow; John Li and Karen Li, East Williston; Hanxuan Kuang, Great Neck; Nicholas Barshay and Jalaj Mehta, Hauppauge; Yanni Akhavan, Sophia Giordano and Lesly Honore, Hewlett-Woodmere; Ishan Gurnani, Amber Patrick and Harsha Venkatesh, Jericho; Daniela Andrade, Lawrence; Joshua Kapilian, Long Beach; Kate Weseley-Jones, North Shore; Maxwell DeBrino, Northport-East Northport; Matthew Friedman, Oceanside; Jina Yom, Plainview-Old Bethpage; Hammad Izhar, Sewanhaka; Sydney Bracht, Sidney Davis and Lexington Zografakis, Smithtown; and Nicos Prokopiou, West Islip. Christopher Koch of St. Anthony’s High School also advanced.

The event was sponsored by the Science Teachers Association of New York State.


Math tournament champs

A team from Paul J. Gelinas Junior High School placed first in the 2017 Suffolk County Middle School Math Tournament, which was presented by the National Museum of Mathematics in Manhattan with support from Brookhaven National Laboratory.

The eighth annual competition, also called MoMathlon, was divided into a 30-minute individual testing session followed by a 20-minute team competition for five-person teams, lab officials said. Both testing periods were followed by group discussions in which students and competition officials reviewed the problem solutions.

In addition, Claire Yang, of Robert C. Murphy Junior High School in Stony Brook, and Suraj Sharma, of West Hollow Middle School in Melville, were first-place individual winners in the seventh- and eighth-grade categories, respectively.


Writing recognition

Four Suffolk County students received certificates honoring their writing skills from the National Council of Teachers of English.

Yaa Owusu, of Bay Shore High School, and Noor Kamal and Arianna Parkhideh, of Ward Melville High School in East Setauket, received Certificates for Superior Writing, which is part of the council’s Achievement Awards in Writing. Kaitlyn Tung of R.C. Murphy Junior High School in Stony Brook received the Certificate of Recognition, which is part of the council’s Promising Young Writers Program.

Eighteen Nassau County students received one of the two certificates.


Reward Schools

Twenty-nine Long Island high schools were among 185 statewide named Reward Schools by the State Education Department for high academic achievement or the most progress with minimal gaps in student achievement between certain populations of students.

Local high schools receiving the designation were: Bayport-Blue Point, Bethpage, Earl L. Vandermeulen in Port Jefferson, East Meadow, Elwood-John H. Glenn, Evergreen Charter School in Hempstead, Garden City, Great Neck South, Half Hollow Hills East in Dix Hills, Harborfields in Greenlawn, Herricks, Jericho, John F. Kennedy in Bellmore, Locust Valley, Lynbrook, Manhasset, Massapequa, Mount Sinai, North Shore, Northport, Plainedge, Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK, Roslyn, Sayville, Shoreham-Wading River, Smithtown West, South Side in Rockville Centre, Syosset and Wantagh.

Latest Long Island News