51° Good Evening
51° Good Evening
Long IslandEducation

Nassau: Press Day winners

Lynbrook High’s Horizon editor-in-chief Erica DeMichiel was named

Lynbrook High’s Horizon editor-in-chief Erica DeMichiel was named “most outstanding reporter” in the recent Quill Awards competition at Adelphi University. Credit: Handout

Long Island's future journalists were recently recognized for their way with words during an awards ceremony at Adelphi University.

About 200 teens from 30 schools in Nassau, Suffolk and Queens counties came together for Press Day 2013, an event that celebrates talents of high school journalists and provides them with an opportunity to connect with each other and with professionals in the field.

The day culminated with Quill Awards in 14 categories.

"The competition at this year's Quill Awards was very stiff," said Paul Thaler, Adelphi communications department chairman. "The submissions were outstanding across the board."

First-place winners and their categories were: The Rapier of Central Islip High, best page one layout; Hilltop Beacon of Roslyn High, best layout; Melissa Kalyoncu of Roslyn High, best illustration or cartoon; Skyler Kessler of Lynbrook Highl, best photograph; The Cove-er Times of Glen Cove High, best online newspaper; Julia Piraino of Farmingdale High, best arts review; Mohdshobair Hussaini of Freeport High, best sports story or column; Sabina Eck of St. Francis Preparatory School in Fresh Meadows, best editorial; Erica Galluscio of Valley Stream South High, best online writing; Jessica Allen of Bishop McGann-Mercy High in Riverhead, best opinion piece; Dan Wang of W. Tresper Clarke High in Westbury, best feature article; Joe Zappa of Massapequa High, best news article; Erica DeMichiel of Lynbrook High, most outstanding reporter; The Seraph of St. Francis Preparatory School in Fresh Meadows, most outstanding newspaper.



New superintendent

Melissa Burak has been named superintendent of Lynbrook Union Free School District, effective July 1. Burak held the position on an interim basis since the death last year of Santo J. Barbarino and was previously assistant superintendent for business. She began her career as a teacher at Marion Street Elementary School in 1993.



$10,000 for Long Beach

Sanford H. Calhoun High School raised more than $10,000 last month through a fashion show, titled Senior Experience, to aid Long Beach School District in its recovery efforts from superstorm Sandy.

"None of us could possibly imagine what it would be like to go back to school, the place where we spend a majority of our time, with classrooms without any supplies or learning materials," said Calhoun student representative Kari Schaefer.


Physics semifinalists

Nassau County students Kevin Huang and Jerry Xu of Jericho High School and Anthony Lobko of Syosset High School were among 406 nationwide named semifinalists for the 2013 U.S. Physics Team by the American Association of Physics Teachers. More than 4,400 teens competed earlier this year in the first exam phase for 20 spots on the team.



Scholarship winners

Fifty-two Long Island seniors are among 2,500 nationally who have won $2,500 scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, based on academic achievement and potential for college success.

Nassau winners were: Drisana Mosaphir and Kyle Seipp of Baldwin High School; Kevin Hassett of Farmingdale High School; Arvind Nagalingam of Floral Park High School; Jacquelyn Seskin of Garden City High School; Jayant Sani of Great Neck North High School; Marc Aaron Fishman, Philip Foo, Dom Kaczor and Sam Sommer of Great Neck South High School; Ben Dubow of Hebrew Academy of the Five Towns and Rockaway; Ben Kramer of Hewlett High School; Jonathan Ma and Ben Pleat of Herricks High School; Kathryn Gundersen of Island Trees High School; Shun Aizawa, Christina Chen, Asha Job, Bernice Kwan, Samuel Lam, Olivia Novick, Sophia Rhee, Michael Shen, Morgan Smiley and Amelia Xu of Jericho High School, Eric Fegan of John F. Kennedy High School; Arielle Chapin of Lawrence High School; Robyn Tse and Joe Zappa of Massapequa High School; Zach Zagorski of Oceanside High School; Minah Kim of Schreiber High School; Adrian Eunbi Kim of Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK High School; Yair Lichtman of Rambam Mesivta High School; Matt Forrest of Roslyn High School; Rebecca Ruescher of Sacred Heart Academy; Alex Bertrand and Ravi Jain of Syosset High School; Dan Wang of W. Tresper Clarke High School; Lambert Chu of Wheatley School.

Latest Long Island News