Good Morning
Good Morning
Long Island

Gordon Heights, Selden, others hold fire district elections

Residents in dozens of communities across Long Island voted Tuesday for fire district commissioners and, in at least four communities, on propositions that include purchasing new equipment.

In Bayport, Incumbent Raymond Reilly won with 91 votes over Christopher Samson’s 63 votes.

In Commack, Jerome Quigley won a one-year seat with 367 votes over Edward Monahan, who got 46 votes. Incumbent Patrick Fazio ran unopposed and won a five-year term.

Incumbent Arthur Steigert in Copiague won with 275 votes over challenger Scott Sattler’s 103 votes. In Lake Ronkonkoma, Patrick Gugliotta won with 144 votes to Robert Mallins’ 91 votes.

In Smithtown, incumbent Padraig O’Brien won with 332 votes over Timothy Crafts’ 244 votes.

West Babylon incumbent William Klein won with 219 votes to John Brooks’ 26 votes.

Centereach voters elected Joseph Losquadro, who defeated Vickie Marie Belcher, 511-287, to replace Commissioner Daniel Peluso, who did not seek a new five-year term.

In Farmingville, district residents voted 108-79 to approve $600,000 for the purchase of a fire truck. Incumbent Commissioner Robert S. Neubert Jr. was defeated by challenger Robert Wallace, 252-213.

Former Gordon Heights Commissioner Chesley Ruffin regained a seat on the board, defeating Willie Gadson by five votes, 192-187.

Holtsville Commissioner James Bruckner lost to challenger Brian LoPiccolo, 160-124. Challenger Andrew Viola received 60 votes.

In Mastic, incumbent Commissioner Michael Malone was elected to a new five-year term, defeating challenger Eric Vasquez. Christopher DelVecchio defeated N. Frank Hall Jr. to complete the final two years of a five-year term previously held by a commissioner who died in office.

In Ridge, challenger Brian Brooks unseated incumbent James Scuttina, 217-121.

Incumbent Rocky Point Commissioner John Buchner held his seat, defeating challenger Larry Emery, 295-155.

In Selden, incumbent Richard Napolitano held his seat, beating challenger Jeff Bailes, 448-205.

Incumbent Stony Brook Commissioner Dennis Callahan was defeated by challenger Thad P. Holsberg, 236-149.

In St. James, no vote totals were available in the race between William Kearney, William Theobalt and Marilyn Davis for a four-year term, which Kearney won. John Young defeated Victor Johnston for a five-year term.

In Terryville, incumbent James Rant won, defeating challenger Timothy Bonacum, 203-128.

In Yaphank, Scott Thebold defeated Kevin Stinton, 100-38, to replace commissioner Donna Holecek, who did not seek re-election.

In Centerport, longtime member and former board member Harry Acker who was appointed to an unexpired five-year term in June, was defeated by challenger Stanley Wertheimer for the remaining two years of the term.

In Huntington, incumbent Thomas Brown received 162 votes to defeat challenger Jimmy C. Martin Jr., who got 84 votes, for a five-year term. A proposition seeking voter permission to sell a one-acre parcel of unimproved land on Oakwood Road, which is valued at $550,000, was approved.

In Huntington Manor, incumbent Christopher Fusaro got 529 votes to defeat challenger Nancy Bayley, who received 94 votes for a five-year term.

In Hauppauge, incumbent Christopher C. Hirsch won a five-year term with 397 votes over challenger Mark B. Levin who got 44 votes.

It was a close vote in Islip Terrace, where incumbent John Faracco won with 198 votes over John Felder’s 197 votes for a five-year term. Incumbent Tom Connors won with 204 votes over Anton Nadvornik’s 147 votes for a two-year term.

In Central Islip, Christopher S. Murphy won a two-year term with 141 votes, defeating Donald Miller’s 46 votes and Robert D. Sutton’s 70 votes.

In the Hicksville Fire District incumbent John E. Menig Jr. defeated Harry J. Single Jr., 552 to 233.

In Locust Valley, Dominick Scaperotta received 260 votes to defeat Richard P. Goodwin’s 109 votes.

Syosset Fire District incumbent Rohit Dhawan defeated challenger Andrew Dick, 364 to 142.

In the Jericho Fire District, one open commissioner seat was sought by Frank Sammartano, 114; Paolo Pironi, 115; and Robert Betman, 52, and David Mumunafo, 73, vying for the five-year seat.

“At this point we are within one vote and we have 20-something contested paper ballots,” said Ted Ketsoglou, chairman of the board of commissioners. “So tomorrow we will be over at the board of elections with the paper verifications.”

In the Hewlett Bay Fire District, residents approved a proposition seeking approval for a capital reserve fund, using excess money from its regular budget and starting with $50,000 now on hand.

With Sophia Chang and Carl MacGowan

Latest Long Island News