71° Good Afternoon
71° Good Afternoon
Long Island

LI voters choose fire district commissioners, decide propositions

Long Islanders went to the polls Tuesday to choose fire district commissioners and decide on a dozen propositions.

There were 35 contested commissioners races in Nassau and Suffolk counties. Eleven districts and Lindenhurst Village held propositions on spending proposals and the state Length of Service Award Program, or LOSAP, which awards pension-like benefits to volunteers.

Incumbent commissioners were defeated in Woodmere and Bellmore.

Here are results in some contested elections available by deadline:

Elmont: Commissioner Frank Hrbek Jr. was re-elected over challenger Jean Duroseau.

Franklin Square and Munson: Incumbent Dennis Lyons defeated challenger Joseph Gerrato.

Woodmere: Challenger Melanie Kail defeated incumbent Commissioner Timothy Pastor.

Uniondale: Commissioner Fitzroy Morgan defeated challenger John Skelly.

Hicksville: William Blazo defeated Jason W. Dammes.

Bellmore: Challenger Gary Horn defeated incumbent John Curley.

Blue Point: Incumbent Commissioner Peter Miller defeated challenger Douglas Cibuls, and voters passed a proposition to lease a self-contained breathing apparatus.

Brentwood: Incumbent Eric B. Raudies defeated challenger Michael P. O’Malley.

Brookhaven: Incumbent Michael Verni defeated challenger John Lamoreaux.

Greenlawn: Voters passed a referendum to amend the death benefits in the Length of Service Award Program.

Hewlett Bay: Voters passed a referendum on the purchase or lease of three new pumper trucks.

Lakeview: Voters passed a proposition to sell an extra fire engine.

Roosevelt: Voters passed a proposition to lower the age eligibility for firefighters receiving pension benefits from 65 to 62.

Locust Valley: Voters passed a referendum with propositions to reduce the age of eligibility for firefighters to receive pension benefits from 65 to 60, and to allow firefighters receiving those benefits to continue serving as firefighters after the eligibility age.

Hagerman: Mark Palermo defeated Gino Cruz for a commissioner’s seat.

Holbrook: In a three-way race for a seat on the board of commissioners, Edward Irizarry defeated Kyle Larkin and former chief Richard Stack.

Manorville: Incumbent Commissioner Thomas Campanaro defeated Richard Kohn. Both propositions, each establishing reserve funds, were approved.

Setauket: Christopher Paglia defeated Dennis Mirante. A proposition on buying or leasing communications equipment passed.

West Babylon: Brian Hammel Sr. defeated John Randazzo. A proposition to purchase stretcher equipment passed.

Latest Long Island News