38° Good Afternoon
38° Good Afternoon
Long Island

Long Island judicial slots up for election Tuesday

Nassau and Suffolk County voters on Tuesday will choose candidates for State Supreme Court, County Court, Family Court and a variety of lower level judgeships.

Candidates for State Supreme Court run in both counties, and six candidates are running for two seats with 14-year terms.

In Suffolk, races for County Court, Family Court, Second District Court in Babylon, Riverhead Town Justice and Shelter Island Town Justice have one candidate for each available seat.

There is a competitive race for Southampton Town Justice, with two candidates seeking a seat with a four-year term.

In Nassau County, eight candidates are running for four seats on Family Court, and four candidates are running for two seats on Second District Court.

Following is a list of judicial candidates in Nassau and Suffolk counties:


Supreme Court (Vote for 2; 14-year term)

Joseph H. Lorintz (D, R)

Edmund M. Dane (D, R)

Deborah Poulos (C)

Janine Barbera-Dalli (C)

David L. Calone (I)

David A. Morris (I)


County Court (Vote for 1; 10-year term)

Anthony S. Senft Jr. (D, R, C, I, Ref.)

Family Court (Vote for 3; 10-year term)

Kathy G. Bergmann (D, R, C, I, Ref.)

Martha L. Luft (D, R, C, WF, I, Ref.)

Frank A. Tantone (D, R, C, I, Ref.)

District Court Judge, 2nd District, Town of Babylon (Vote for 1; 6-Year Term)

Toni A. Bean (D, R, C, WF, I)

Town Justice, Riverhead (Vote for 1; 4-year term)

Allen M. Smith (D, R, C, I, Ref.)

Town Justice, Shelter Island (Vote for 1; 4-year term)

Helen J. Rosenblum (D, R, C)

Town Justice, Southampton (Vote for 1; 4-year term)

Andrea H. Schiavoni (D, C, G, WF, I, WE)

Ernest R. Wruck (R)


Family Court (Vote for four; 10-year term)

Stacy D. Bennett (D, G, WF, WE)

Ellen R. Greenberg (D, G, WF, WE)

Conrad D. Singer (D, G, WF, WE, Ref.)

Ayesha Keri Brantley (D, G, WF, WE, Ref.)

Eileen C. Daly-Sapraicone (R, C, I, Ref., Tax Revolt)

Darlene D. Harris (R, C, I, Tax Revolt)

Virginia A. Clavin-Higgins (R, C, I, Ref., Tax Revolt)

Martin J. Massell (R, C, I, Tax Revolt)

District Court Judge, 2nd District (Vote for two; 6-year term)

Helen Voutsinas (D, G, WF, WE, Ref.)

Eileen J. Goggin (D, G, WF, WE)

David W. McAndrews (R, C, I, Ref., Tax Revolt)

Dennis F. McDermott (R, C, I, Tax Revolt)

Latest Long Island News