59° Good Evening
59° Good Evening
Long Island

Nassau: 29 LI Intel Fair winners

Hewlett High’s Ryan Kenny, Amy Vitha and Samantha

Hewlett High’s Ryan Kenny, Amy Vitha and Samantha DiSalvo, from left, won the best-of-category award in plant sciences at the recent Intel International Science & Engineering Fair in Phoenix. Credit: Handout

Twenty-nine Long Island students were among the winners at the Intel International Science & Engineering Fair last month in Phoenix.

The fair — administered by the Society for Science & the Public — included 1,600 students from 433 affiliate fairs in 70 countries. More than 500 finalists received awards, and there were 17 best-of-category winners who received $5,000 prizes and $1,000 grants for both their schools and affiliated fairs.

George W. Hewlett High School students Samantha DiSalvo, Ryan Kenny and Amy Vitha won the best-of-category award in plant sciences. Their project, titled "The Characterization of the LPS-Induced Hypersensitive Response in Ceratopteris richardii," explored the development of plants with high resistance to pathogens by studying how parts of bacteria can induce cell death.

"I am extremely proud of my students' achievements," said Terrence Bissoondial, the Hewlett team's mentor. "It is not what they studied, but how well they studied the topic."

Other Long Island students to win awards included: Ben Akhavan of Rambam Mesivta High School in Lawrence; Mustafa Ansari of Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK High School; Evan Chernack of South Side High School in Rockville Centre; Arshia Harandi of Roslyn High School; Dan Hanover of Great Neck North High School; Matt Chun, Kevin Huang, Olivia Novick, Kristin Wong and Amy Xu of Jericho High School; Shilpa Iyer and Shweta Iyer of Comsewogue High School in Port Jefferson Station; Aakash Jhaveri of The Wheatley School in Old Westbury; Byeong Ho Jung and Ben Pleat of Herricks High School; Minah Kim of Paul D. Schreiber High School in Port Washington; Albert Kim, Archie Chakming Kong and Randy Tung of Manhasset Secondary School; Shujat Ali Khan and Shamoon Syed Rizvi of East Meadow High School; Aneri Kinariwalla of Sayville High School; Karalyn Pappas, Arthur Wang and Stephanie Ying of Manhasset High School; and Trinity Russell of Commack High School.


LI Math Fair

The North Shore School District in Glen Head won 25 gold medals — the most of any Long Island district — in the 2013 Long Island Math Fair at Hofstra University.

The competition, sponsored by the Nassau and Suffolk math teachers associations, required pupils in grades 7-12 to submit an essay on a math topic of their choice and give a 15-minute presentation.

Other top-performing Nassau districts, and the gold medal totals for each, were Roslyn with 21, Syosset with 11, Herricks with nine, Oceanside with seven, and Great Neck and East Williston with six each.



$15G donation for books

The Long Beach school district recently received a $15,000 donation from the Bangladesh Medical Association's New York Chapter to aid in its recovery efforts from superstorm Sandy.

The money will be used to replace library books lost at Long Beach Middle School.

In other news, the district's Learning Activities for Raising Creativity program collected $2,000 by offering decorated water bottles that contained messages, such as advice on what to do during disasters, in exchange for donations to the Long Beach Public Library.



Hunger essay winners

Four Nassau County students were first-place winners of $100 savings bonds in the 25th annual World Food Day Essay Contest coordinated by Stop World Hunger in Amityville.

Participants were required to respond to the question: "What is the best way to prevent world hunger?" More than 1,700 entries were received from 45 tristate area schools.

Winners were Alexa Mazzamuto of Our Lady of Mercy School in Hicksville, primary division; Liz Bavaro of Our Lady of Victory School in Floral Park, intermediate division; Louis Rubino of Sewanhaka High School in Floral Park, junior high division; and Blair Brunetti of Our Lady of Mercy Academy in Syosset, high school division.



Merit Scholarships

Eleven Long Island students are among 2,500 winners nationwide of college-sponsored scholarships issued through the National Merit Scholarship Corp. The awards provide from $500 to $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at institutions financing the scholarship.

Winners were Rabia Aslam and Rebekah Sugarman of Syosset High School, Sophie Downes of Northport High School, Paul Havens and Sohini Upadhyay of Paul D. Schreiber High School in Port Washington, Alexandra Isaia of Oceanside High School, Josh Landman of Roslyn High School, Max Lee of Half Hollow Hills High School West in Dix Hills, Joseph Mogavero of Massapequa High School, Alexis Weitzner of Huntington High School, and Julia Morris of Bellmore, who is home-schooled.

Latest Long Island News