Good Morning
Good Morning
Long Island

Nassau and Suffolk village residents go to polls Tuesday

Village election polling takes place in village halls

Village election polling takes place in village halls on Tuesday, June 21, 2016, and voting times generally are from noon to 9 p.m. Credit: Gordon M. Grant

Voters across Long Island will take to the polls Tuesday for village elections, including several contested elections for mayor, trustee and village justice positions.

In Poquott, four write-in candidates are joining three candidates running for mayor and two open trustee seats in an election that pits the current mayor against the previous one.

Led by incumbent Poquott Mayor Dolores Parrish and trustee Sandra Nicoletti, the candidates are running write-in campaigns after a state judge threw out their nominating petitions due to illegible signatures and other errors.

The campaign is a rematch of the 2014 election, when Parrish unseated former Mayor Barbara Donovan.

Now Donovan is seeking to win back her old job, which she had held for 12 years before she lost to Parrish. Former Village Clerk Joan Hubbard and planning board member Michael H. Schaefer are running for two trustee seats held by Nicoletti and John Pesek. Hubbard and Schaefer are opposed by Nicoletti and fellow write-in candidates Gary Garofano and John Mastauskas. All terms are two years.

In the race for Manorhaven mayor, trustee James M. Avena is running against former Mayor Gary Pagano. Four candidates, including one incumbent trustee, are competing for two Manorhaven trustee seats. Barbara Ruemenapp, Kenneth R. Kraft and Roy Smitheimer and incumbent Priscilla von Roeschlaub are running for trustee. All terms are two years.

In Brightwaters, incumbent trustees Laurie Elliott and Diane Urso and challenger Carmine Chiappetta are running for two open trustee seats. Mayor Joseph McDermott is running unopposed for re-election. All terms are two years.

First elected Upper Brookville mayor in 2009, Terry Thielen is facing her first election challenger in Elliot S. Conway. The term is two years.

In Port Jefferson, three lawyers are vying to complete the remainder of a four-year term won last year by longtime Village Justice Peter Graham months before he died in office. Village Justice William Glass, who was appointed to the bench in October after Graham died, faces challenges from Tara Higgins and Scott Zamek. The winner will complete the last three years of the term that Graham had won last June.

In Bellport, Steven Mackin, S. David Smith and Joseph Gagliano are running for two open trustee seats carrying two-year terms.

In Bayville, eight candidates are running for three trustee seats and one village judgeship. All terms are four years. Incumbent trustee Harry Pinkerton III is running on a ticket with Alfred Avazis and Lisa Maloney for the three trustee seats, and Madeleine Petrara-Perrin for village justice. Incumbent Village Justice Anthony Perri is running on a ticket with trustee candidates Robert De Natale, Michele Principe and Robert Nigro.

In Lawrence, Rochelle Stern Kevelson, Uri Kaufman, Syma Diamond and Daniel Goldstein are running for two open trustee seats, while trustee Alex Edelman is running unopposed for mayor. Edelman’s trustee seat will be filled by appointment for the remaining year of his term.

Across Long Island, village elections are scheduled for Tuesday. Polling takes place in village halls and voting times vary in each village, but generally are from noon to 9 p.m.

Latest Long Island News