59° Good Evening
59° Good Evening
Long IslandNassau

Appellate panel affirms Nassau decision to reject 48 nominees to Long Beach Democratic Party

Michael Zapson is shown at his Mineola office

Michael Zapson is shown at his Mineola office on Monday, Sept. 22, 2003. Photo Credit: Lee Weissman

A New York State Supreme Court Appellate panel of four judges reaffirmed a Nassau County decision that dismissed the entire slate of committee nominees to the Long Beach Democratic Party.

The New York Supreme Court Appellate Division, Second Department, in Brooklyn ruled Wednesday that at least 48 committee petitions for the Long Beach zone of the Nassau County Democratic Committee were invalid. The petitions submitted by Long Beach Democratic Party leader Michael Zapson were rejected because they did not say what city the committee nominees were representing.

Committee members are elected by the party to nominate candidates for City Council, in the general election in November as well as in primary elections. Committee members also elect the party chairman, both in Nassau County and in the Long Beach zone.

The appellate court did uphold committee nominees to represent the communities of Lido Beach, Atlantic Beach and Point Lookout within the Town of Hempstead.

The Long Beach committee petitions were challenged by Nassau County Democratic chairman Jay Jacobs after they were submitted by Zapson, whom Jacobs has long called on to resign.

"Two courts and five judges have now ruled that Mr. Zapson failed to file a single valid petition for any member of the Democratic committee in Long Beach," Nassau Democratic Committee spokeswoman Bonnie Garone said.

Zapson has refused to resign and said Long Beach Democrats should elect their own leader based on the results of the Sept. 10 Democratic primary.

Nassau County Democrats first nominated Zapson's slate of council member candidates, including incumbents Len Torres and Anthony Eramo and challenger Karen Adamo, at the party convention in May.

However, Jacobs later nominated a different slate of candidates that included Eramo, Nassau County Community College Professor Anissa Moore and firefighter David Yolinsky to run in the Sept. 10 primary.

"Jay Jacobs has decided he doesn't want these 48 people in Long Beach to be part of his organization when they have successfully gotten Democrats elected," Zapson said. "I think the successful candidates will be involved in choosing who the next Democratic chairman should be."

The new committee members chosen by Jacobs will take office next month and vote on a new Long Beach chairman.


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

Latest Long Island News