48° Good Morning
48° Good Morning
Long IslandNassau

Nassau Republicans nominate Kate Murray for district attorney along with slew of other candidates

Town of Hempstead Supervisor Kate Murray announced on

Town of Hempstead Supervisor Kate Murray announced on Monday, May 4, 2015 that she will run for Nassau County District Attorney. Credit: Newsday / Audrey C. Tiernan

Nassau County Republicans last night backed Hempstead Town Supervisor Kate Murray for district attorney and tapped town Councilman Anthony Santino -- a longtime party spokesman -- to take her place.

At the GOP's nominating convention in Levittown, the executive committee chose a slate of nearly 50 candidates for county, town, city and judicial races, with few surprises.

Murray, who already announced her candidacy for district attorney, on Monday, will be at the top of the party ticket.

"We are at a crossroads," she told a crowd of several hundred supporters, some of whom wore stickers reading "I [heart] Kate," and party committee members at Wisdom Lane School.

"We need a take-charge official who can work with law enforcement and the residents," Murray said.

All but one of the 12 GOP county legislators will seek re-election, with Francis X. Becker Jr., who has served since the body's 1996 inception, stepping down at the end of the year.

In Hempstead Town, Santino, a senior councilman, will try to win the supervisor's seat Murray has held since 2003.

Oyster Bay Town Supervisor John Venditto, first elected in 1997, will run for a ninth term.

Republicans, meanwhile, have not yet chosen a candidate to challenge first-term Democratic North Hempstead Supervisor Judi Bosworth.

The full list of Republican candidates:

District attorney: Murray

County Legislature, 1st District: James C. Major

2nd District: Cornelius Todd Smith

3rd District: Felix Quayson

4th District: Denise Ford

5th District: TBD

6th District: C. William Gaylor

7th District: Howard Kopel

8th District: Vincent Muscarella

9th District: Richard Nicolello

10th District: Lisa Benjamin

11th District: Matthew Connolly

12th District: James Kennedy

13th District: Norma L. Gonsalves

14th District: Laura Schaefer

15th District: Dennis Dunne Sr.

16th District: Angel Cepeda

17th District: Rose Marie Walker

18th District: Donald Mac-Kenzie

19th District: Steven Rhoads

Hempstead Town supervisor: Santino

Town Council 2nd District: Edward Ambrosino

3rd District: Bruce Blakeman

5th District: Erin King Sweeney

Town clerk: Nasrin Ahmad

Town receiver of taxes: Donald Clavin

Oyster Bay Town supervisor: Venditto

Town Council: Joseph Muscarella, Anthony Macagnone, Rebecca Alesia

Town clerk: Jim Altadonna

Town receiver of taxes: James Stefanich

North Hempstead Town supervisor: TBD

Town Council 2nd District: Henry Golis Jr.

4th District: MaryKatherine Barket

6th District: Dina DeGiorgio

Town receiver of taxes: Pepitz Blanchard

Glen Cove City mayor: Reginald Spinello

City Council: Pamela Panzenbeck, Joseph Capobianco, four other seats TBD

Long Beach City Council: Angelo Lomonte, Catherine Quinn, Brian Higgins

Supreme Court justice: 5 candidates TBD

Surrogate's Court judge: Margaret C. Reilly

County Court judge: Robert G. Bogle, Howard E. Sturim, Felice J. Muraca

2nd District Court judge: James Darcy

3rd District Court judge: Frank A. Doddato

4th District Court judge: Paul Meli, Joseph Girardi


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.