54° Good Morning
54° Good Morning
Long IslandNassau

Two Long Beach City Council members score primary wins

Two Long Beach City Council members and a Nassau Community College professor were the top vote-getters in the Long Beach Democratic primary for City Council amid a divisive Democratic Party.

Long Beach incumbents Anthony Eramo and Len Torres won the nomination with all precincts reporting, followed by challenger Anissa Moore for the third nomination. Karen Adamo and Dave Yolinsky trailed with absentee ballots yet to be counted.

Long Beach voters were deciding between two slates of Democratic candidates divided in an ongoing battle between Nassau County party chairman Jay Jacobs and Long Beach party chairman Mike Zapson. Both have called on each other to resign.

Nassau County Democrats heralded victory in the race by claiming the only open seat for Moore, saying that Zapson's days as Long Beach party leader were finished.

"We are gratified that the new Democrats won the open seat in Long Beach," said Bonnie Garone, spokeswoman for the county Democratic Party. "This is a new era in Long Beach with a new leader, Rob Solomon, who will work hard to have Len Torres, Anthony Eramo and Anissa Moore elected in November."

Eramo and Torres were nominated along with challenger Adamo, a Realtor. Each was backed by Zapson leading into the May convention.

Jacobs also backed Eramo and a different slate of challengers, Moore and former firefighter Yolinsky, to petition for the primary with Eramo. Eramo said he was not running on the same slate.

The Independence Party primary was won by three Republicans: Verizon manager Brian Higgins, marketing strategist Angelo Lomonte and Fordham Law School attorney Catherine Quinn, who defeated Adamo, Eramo and Torres.

The top two vote-getters in the November election will receive four-year terms, with the third-highest vote-getter receiving a two-year term. The current City Council members are all Democrats.

Several voters Thursday were well aware of the Democratic Party split and were beleaguered by infighting between the two party leaders. Other voters were concerned about outside politics influencing the race.

"I'm not sure either one is the greatest thing for Long Beach," said William Negin, 87, who has lived in Long Beach for 40 years.

Some races were very close and could be affected by absentee ballots.

In other Nassau primaries:

Glen Cove mayor -- Reginald P. Spinello (I) defeated Tony Gallo (R) in a Republican Party primary. He tied on the conservative line with 19 votes. Spinello is seeking his second term and looking to add the GOP to three other party lines.

Glen Cove voters also selected six of 11 Republican candidates for the City Council race.

Joseph A. Capobianco (R), Pamela D. Panzenbeck, Nicholas A. DiLeo Jr. (R), Kristina S. Heuser (R), Efraim Spagnoletti (R), and Roderick Watson (R) defeated Nancy Toher Hawkins (R), Philip M. Pidot (R), Tab M. Hauser (I), Carlos A. Shimabukuro (R) and Danielle Willis (no party affiliation) for six spots in a GOP primary.

In other Nassau primaries:

Surrogate's Court -- Margaret Reilly (R) lost to Angela Iannacci (D) in a Green Party primary.

County Court -- Tammy S. Robbins (D), Steven M. Jaeger (D) and N. Scott Banks (D) defeated Robert G. Bogle (R), Howard E. Sturim (R) and Felice J. Muraca (C) for three spots in a Green primary.

District Court judge (2nd District) -- Ayesha Kerri Brantley defeated James Darcy (R) (D) in a Green primary.

District Court judge (3rd District) -- Frank A. Doddato (R) defeated William Hohauser (D) in an Independence Party primary.

Nassau top stories