70° Good Afternoon
70° Good Afternoon
Long IslandNassau

Nassau Republicans take back legislature

Howard Kopel, Republican candidate for Nassau County's 7th

Howard Kopel, Republican candidate for Nassau County's 7th Legislative District, beat Democrat Jeffrey Toback in the Nov. 3, 2009, race. (July 16, 2009)
Read more about Howard Kopel Photo Credit: Howard Schnapp

In a stunning upset, Nassau Republicans regained control of the county legislature for the first time in a decade.

"We have lost, in my judgment, the majority in the Nassau County Legislature," said Jay Jacobs, chairman of the Nassau Democratic Party.

>>PHOTOS: Click here to see election highlights and lowlights

The defeat came for Democrats when Republican Howard Kopel beat five-term Democrat Jeff Toback in last night's elections, giving the GOP a 10-9 control with several races that remained too close to call.

"Politics is a cyclical business. We will continue to persevere and we will continue to represent the values and principals of the Democratic Party," Jacobs said.

Kopel, 58, who opposed any further tax increases, campaigned on the promise that he would work to repeal the 2.5 percent sales tax recently imposed on home heating fuel.

"I look forward to representing all the people of the district, working with hopefully a new county executive and the legislature to reduce property taxes, reduce spending and cut the energy tax," said Kopel, owner of a title insurance company.

Here's a rundown of other races:

1st District

Kevan M. Abrahams, a Democrat from of Hempstead Village, defeated Republican challenger Elton E. McCabe of Uniondale.

2nd District

Voters elected Robert Troiano, a Democrat, to fill the vacant seat.

3rd District

John J. Ciotti, a Republican from North Valley Stream, defeated challenger Nina Petraro Bastardi, a Democrat from Valley Stream.

4th District

Democratic incumbent Denise Ford marched to victory thanks to a four-way cross endorsement from the major parties.

5th District

Joseph Scannell, a Democrat from Baldwin, had a slight lead over Republican challenger Christian Browne of Rockville Centre with 65 of 66 election districts reported.

6th District

Republican incumbent Francis X. Becker Jr. of Lynbrook defeated challenger Vincent M. Grasso, a Democrat from Valley Stream.

7th District

Incumbent Democrat Jeffrey Toback of Oceanside ran lost to challenger Howard J. Kopel, a Republican from Lawrence.

8th District

Republican incumbent Vincent T. Muscarella of West Hempstead defeated challenger Gaspare Tumminello, a Democrat from Franklin Square.

9th District

Republican incumbent Richard J. Nicolello of New Hyde Park defeated challenger Dolores D. Sedacca, former mayor or the Village of East Williston.

10th District

Democratic incumbent Judi R. Bosworth of Great Neck defeated challenger Garry H. Stark, a Republican from Saddle Rock.

11th District

Democratic incumbent Wayne H. Wink Jr. of Roslyn defeated challenger Jeffrey M. Losquadro, a Republican from Albertson.

12th District

Republican Peter J. Schmitt defeated Democratic challenger John E. Rennhack of Massapequa.

13th District

Republican incumbent Norma L. Gonsalves of East Meadow defeated challenger Democrat Patricia M. Maher of East Meadow.

14th District

Democratic incumbent David L. Mejias of Farmingdale was holding a slight lead in a heated race against Republican challenger Joseph Belesi of Farmingdale.

15th District

Incumbent Republican Dennis Dunne Sr. of Levittown defeated challenger Democrat Glenn L. Stephenson of Seaford.

16th District

Democratic incumbent Judith A. Jacobs of Woodbury defeated Republican challenger Rebecca M. Alesia of Plainview.

17th District

Republican candidate Rose Marie Walker of Hicksville defeated Democratic challenger Arshad Majid of Farmingdale.

18th District

Democratic incumbent Diane Yatauro of Glen Cove defeated challenger Republican Michael Montesano of Glen Head.

19th District

Democrat incumbent David W. Denenberg defeated challenger Fred J. Jones, a Republican from Merrick.

With Ann Givens, Eden Laikin, Sid Cassese and William Murphy.

>>PHOTOS: Click here to see election highlights and lowlights

>>RESULTS: Click here for complete town-by-town vote totals

>>COMPLETE COVERAGE: All election stories | Latest Spin Cycle blog posts


We're revamping our Comments section. Learn more and share your input.

Latest Long Island News